aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/lib
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorVineet Gupta <Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com>2016-10-07 17:02:10 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-10-07 18:46:30 -0700
commit51a021244b9d579be6b4f8c15c493a76deb2a79e (patch)
tree85fb43913c3f44a3e54d771f003ac5307150e814 /lib
parent445ed0a0eac50d2a76441278a084554a4b9dcfda (diff)
downloadlinux-51a021244b9d579be6b4f8c15c493a76deb2a79e.tar.gz
atomic64: no need for CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_ATOMIC64_DEC_IF_POSITIVE
This came to light when implementing native 64-bit atomics for ARCv2. The atomic64 self-test code uses CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_ATOMIC64_DEC_IF_POSITIVE to check whether atomic64_dec_if_positive() is available. It seems it was needed when not every arch defined it. However as of current code the Kconfig option seems needless - for CONFIG_GENERIC_ATOMIC64 it is auto-enabled in lib/Kconfig and a generic definition of API is present lib/atomic64.c - arches with native 64-bit atomics select it in arch/*/Kconfig and define the API in their headers So I see no point in keeping the Kconfig option Compile tested for: - blackfin (CONFIG_GENERIC_ATOMIC64) - x86 (!CONFIG_GENERIC_ATOMIC64) - ia64 Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1473703083-8625-3-git-send-email-vgupta@synopsys.com Signed-off-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Zhaoxiu Zeng <zhaoxiu.zeng@gmail.com> Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au> Cc: Ming Lin <ming.l@ssi.samsung.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'lib')
-rw-r--r--lib/Kconfig3
-rw-r--r--lib/atomic64_test.c4
2 files changed, 0 insertions, 7 deletions
diff --git a/lib/Kconfig b/lib/Kconfig
index d79909dc01ec..0e74df3c5441 100644
--- a/lib/Kconfig
+++ b/lib/Kconfig
@@ -457,9 +457,6 @@ config NLATTR
config GENERIC_ATOMIC64
bool
-config ARCH_HAS_ATOMIC64_DEC_IF_POSITIVE
- def_bool y if GENERIC_ATOMIC64
-
config LRU_CACHE
tristate
diff --git a/lib/atomic64_test.c b/lib/atomic64_test.c
index dbb369145dda..46042901130f 100644
--- a/lib/atomic64_test.c
+++ b/lib/atomic64_test.c
@@ -213,7 +213,6 @@ static __init void test_atomic64(void)
r += one;
BUG_ON(v.counter != r);
-#ifdef CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_ATOMIC64_DEC_IF_POSITIVE
INIT(onestwos);
BUG_ON(atomic64_dec_if_positive(&v) != (onestwos - 1));
r -= one;
@@ -226,9 +225,6 @@ static __init void test_atomic64(void)
INIT(-one);
BUG_ON(atomic64_dec_if_positive(&v) != (-one - one));
BUG_ON(v.counter != r);
-#else
-#warning Please implement atomic64_dec_if_positive for your architecture and select the above Kconfig symbol
-#endif
INIT(onestwos);
BUG_ON(!atomic64_inc_not_zero(&v));