aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>2021-02-25 17:18:57 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-02-26 09:41:02 -0800
commit1dc0da6e9ec0f8d735756374697912cd50f402cf (patch)
treefdcae94afdbcc3561e78ec2f526dc95a0eb8a2f5 /arch
parent0ce20dd840897b12ae70869c69f1ba34d6d16965 (diff)
downloadlinux-1dc0da6e9ec0f8d735756374697912cd50f402cf.tar.gz
x86, kfence: enable KFENCE for x86
Add architecture specific implementation details for KFENCE and enable KFENCE for the x86 architecture. In particular, this implements the required interface in <asm/kfence.h> for setting up the pool and providing helper functions for protecting and unprotecting pages. For x86, we need to ensure that the pool uses 4K pages, which is done using the set_memory_4k() helper function. [elver@google.com: add missing copyright and description header] Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210118092159.145934-2-elver@google.com Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20201103175841.3495947-3-elver@google.com Signed-off-by: Marco Elver <elver@google.com> Signed-off-by: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Reviewed-by: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Co-developed-by: Marco Elver <elver@google.com> Reviewed-by: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com> Cc: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christopher Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Hillf Danton <hdanton@sina.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Joern Engel <joern@purestorage.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@kernel.org> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: SeongJae Park <sjpark@amazon.de> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/Kconfig1
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/include/asm/kfence.h70
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/fault.c5
3 files changed, 76 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index cd4b9b1204a8..2792879d398e 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -151,6 +151,7 @@ config X86
select HAVE_ARCH_JUMP_LABEL_RELATIVE
select HAVE_ARCH_KASAN if X86_64
select HAVE_ARCH_KASAN_VMALLOC if X86_64
+ select HAVE_ARCH_KFENCE
select HAVE_ARCH_KGDB
select HAVE_ARCH_MMAP_RND_BITS if MMU
select HAVE_ARCH_MMAP_RND_COMPAT_BITS if MMU && COMPAT
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/kfence.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/kfence.h
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..a0659dbd93ea
--- /dev/null
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/kfence.h
@@ -0,0 +1,70 @@
+/* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 */
+/*
+ * x86 KFENCE support.
+ *
+ * Copyright (C) 2020, Google LLC.
+ */
+
+#ifndef _ASM_X86_KFENCE_H
+#define _ASM_X86_KFENCE_H
+
+#include <linux/bug.h>
+#include <linux/kfence.h>
+
+#include <asm/pgalloc.h>
+#include <asm/pgtable.h>
+#include <asm/set_memory.h>
+#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
+
+/*
+ * The page fault handler entry function, up to which the stack trace is
+ * truncated in reports.
+ */
+#define KFENCE_SKIP_ARCH_FAULT_HANDLER "asm_exc_page_fault"
+
+/* Force 4K pages for __kfence_pool. */
+static inline bool arch_kfence_init_pool(void)
+{
+ unsigned long addr;
+
+ for (addr = (unsigned long)__kfence_pool; is_kfence_address((void *)addr);
+ addr += PAGE_SIZE) {
+ unsigned int level;
+
+ if (!lookup_address(addr, &level))
+ return false;
+
+ if (level != PG_LEVEL_4K)
+ set_memory_4k(addr, 1);
+ }
+
+ return true;
+}
+
+/* Protect the given page and flush TLB. */
+static inline bool kfence_protect_page(unsigned long addr, bool protect)
+{
+ unsigned int level;
+ pte_t *pte = lookup_address(addr, &level);
+
+ if (WARN_ON(!pte || level != PG_LEVEL_4K))
+ return false;
+
+ /*
+ * We need to avoid IPIs, as we may get KFENCE allocations or faults
+ * with interrupts disabled. Therefore, the below is best-effort, and
+ * does not flush TLBs on all CPUs. We can tolerate some inaccuracy;
+ * lazy fault handling takes care of faults after the page is PRESENT.
+ */
+
+ if (protect)
+ set_pte(pte, __pte(pte_val(*pte) & ~_PAGE_PRESENT));
+ else
+ set_pte(pte, __pte(pte_val(*pte) | _PAGE_PRESENT));
+
+ /* Flush this CPU's TLB. */
+ flush_tlb_one_kernel(addr);
+ return true;
+}
+
+#endif /* _ASM_X86_KFENCE_H */
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/fault.c b/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
index 525197381baa..99fe6d3e690d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
@@ -9,6 +9,7 @@
#include <linux/kdebug.h> /* oops_begin/end, ... */
#include <linux/extable.h> /* search_exception_tables */
#include <linux/memblock.h> /* max_low_pfn */
+#include <linux/kfence.h> /* kfence_handle_page_fault */
#include <linux/kprobes.h> /* NOKPROBE_SYMBOL, ... */
#include <linux/mmiotrace.h> /* kmmio_handler, ... */
#include <linux/perf_event.h> /* perf_sw_event */
@@ -680,6 +681,10 @@ page_fault_oops(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long error_code,
if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_EFI))
efi_crash_gracefully_on_page_fault(address);
+ /* Only not-present faults should be handled by KFENCE. */
+ if (!(error_code & X86_PF_PROT) && kfence_handle_page_fault(address))
+ return;
+
oops:
/*
* Oops. The kernel tried to access some bad page. We'll have to