aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/arc/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>2018-09-04 17:04:07 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2019-04-03 10:32:54 +0200
commit6137fed0823247e32306bde2b48cac627c24f894 (patch)
tree73fe1d4bac3022a68e12f0798b1f21d9b4af6d5f /arch/arc/include
parent7bb8709d6ad3ceeb5010a98b0d7eb11db8836da1 (diff)
downloadlinux-6137fed0823247e32306bde2b48cac627c24f894.tar.gz
arch/tlb: Clean up simple architectures
For the architectures that do not implement their own tlb_flush() but do already use the generic mmu_gather, there are two options: 1) the platform has an efficient flush_tlb_range() and asm-generic/tlb.h doesn't need any overrides at all. 2) the platform lacks an efficient flush_tlb_range() and we select MMU_GATHER_NO_RANGE to minimize full invalidates. Convert all 'simple' architectures to one of these two forms. alpha: has no range invalidate -> 2 arc: already used flush_tlb_range() -> 1 c6x: has no range invalidate -> 2 hexagon: has an efficient flush_tlb_range() -> 1 (flush_tlb_mm() is in fact a full range invalidate, so no need to shoot down everything) m68k: has inefficient flush_tlb_range() -> 2 microblaze: has no flush_tlb_range() -> 2 mips: has efficient flush_tlb_range() -> 1 (even though it currently seems to use flush_tlb_mm()) nds32: already uses flush_tlb_range() -> 1 nios2: has inefficient flush_tlb_range() -> 2 (no limit on range iteration) openrisc: has inefficient flush_tlb_range() -> 2 (no limit on range iteration) parisc: already uses flush_tlb_range() -> 1 sparc32: already uses flush_tlb_range() -> 1 unicore32: has inefficient flush_tlb_range() -> 2 (no limit on range iteration) xtensa: has efficient flush_tlb_range() -> 1 Note this also fixes a bug in the existing code for a number platforms. Those platforms that did: tlb_end_vma() -> if (!full_mm) flush_tlb_*() tlb_flush -> if (full_mm) flush_tlb_mm() missed the case of shift_arg_pages(), which doesn't have @fullmm set, nor calls into tlb_*vma(), but still frees page-tables and thus needs an invalidate. The new code handles this by detecting a non-empty range, and either issuing the matching range invalidate or a full invalidate, depending on the capabilities. No change in behavior intended. Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arc/include')
-rw-r--r--arch/arc/include/asm/tlb.h23
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 23 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arc/include/asm/tlb.h b/arch/arc/include/asm/tlb.h
index 7af2b373ebe7..90cac97643a4 100644
--- a/arch/arc/include/asm/tlb.h
+++ b/arch/arc/include/asm/tlb.h
@@ -9,29 +9,6 @@
#ifndef _ASM_ARC_TLB_H
#define _ASM_ARC_TLB_H
-#define tlb_flush(tlb) \
-do { \
- if (tlb->fullmm) \
- flush_tlb_mm((tlb)->mm); \
-} while (0)
-
-/*
- * This pair is called at time of munmap/exit to flush cache and TLB entries
- * for mappings being torn down.
- * 1) cache-flush part -implemented via tlb_start_vma( ) for VIPT aliasing D$
- * 2) tlb-flush part - implemted via tlb_end_vma( ) flushes the TLB range
- *
- * Note, read http://lkml.org/lkml/2004/1/15/6
- */
-
-#define tlb_end_vma(tlb, vma) \
-do { \
- if (!tlb->fullmm) \
- flush_tlb_range(vma, vma->vm_start, vma->vm_end); \
-} while (0)
-
-#define __tlb_remove_tlb_entry(tlb, ptep, address)
-
#include <linux/pagemap.h>
#include <asm-generic/tlb.h>