aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>2013-10-15 15:31:51 +0200
committerMark Brown <broonie@linaro.org>2014-06-13 20:30:57 +0100
commitca3a638daef5b2b489bd105f3d95e7faf077cea3 (patch)
tree73d48a0ef30ebc6a69f4718f99aeadd52f768489
parent2b8b608bfca576bbadfa199825b378514696238e (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-v3.10/topic/mm-timer.tar.gz
clocksource: arch_timer: Do not register arch_sys_counter twicev3.10/topic/mm-timer
Commit: 65cd4f6 ("arch_timer: Move to generic sched_clock framework") added code to register the arch_sys_counter in arch_timer_register(), but it is already registered in arch_counter_register(). This results in the timer being added to the clocksource list twice, therefore causing an infinite loop in the list. Remove the duplicate registration and register the scheduler clock after the original registration instead. This fixes a hang during boot on Tegra114 (Cortex-A15). [ While I've only tested this on Tegra114, I suspect the same hang during boot happens for all processors that use this clock source. ] Signed-off-by: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com> Acked-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1381843911-31962-1-git-send-email-treding@nvidia.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> (cherry picked from commit 4a7d3e8a9939cf8073c247286d81cbe0ae48eba2) Signed-off-by: Mark Brown <broonie@linaro.org> Conflicts: drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c
-rw-r--r--drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c9
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c b/drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c
index 6a5e963..89affb5 100644
--- a/drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c
+++ b/drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c
@@ -418,6 +418,9 @@ static void __init arch_counter_register(unsigned type)
cyclecounter.mult = clocksource_counter.mult;
cyclecounter.shift = clocksource_counter.shift;
timecounter_init(&timecounter, &cyclecounter, start_count);
+
+ /* 56 bits minimum, so we assume worst case rollover */
+ sched_clock_register(arch_timer_read_counter, 56, arch_timer_rate);
}
static void __cpuinit arch_timer_stop(struct clock_event_device *clk)
@@ -470,12 +473,6 @@ static int __init arch_timer_register(void)
goto out;
}
- clocksource_register_hz(&clocksource_counter, arch_timer_rate);
- cyclecounter.mult = clocksource_counter.mult;
- cyclecounter.shift = clocksource_counter.shift;
- timecounter_init(&timecounter, &cyclecounter,
- arch_counter_get_cntpct());
-
if (arch_timer_use_virtual) {
ppi = arch_timer_ppi[VIRT_PPI];
err = request_percpu_irq(ppi, arch_timer_handler_virt,