aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/mutex.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>2011-04-22 11:19:10 -0600
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>2011-04-24 13:18:38 +0200
commit625f2a378e5a10f45fdc37932fc9f8a21676de9e (patch)
tree1bf966a8e65463cdcc313c559533f032657c9dcf /kernel/mutex.c
parentd3bf52e998056a6002b2aecfe1d25486376382ac (diff)
downloadlinaro-lsk-625f2a378e5a10f45fdc37932fc9f8a21676de9e.tar.gz
sched: Get rid of lock_depth
Neil Brown pointed out that lock_depth somehow escaped the BKL removal work. Let's get rid of it now. Note that the perf scripting utilities still have a bunch of code for dealing with common_lock_depth in tracepoints; I have left that in place in case anybody wants to use that code with older kernels. Suggested-by: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20110422111910.456c0e84@bike.lwn.net Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/mutex.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/mutex.c7
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 7 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/mutex.c b/kernel/mutex.c
index fe4706cb0c5..2c938e2337c 100644
--- a/kernel/mutex.c
+++ b/kernel/mutex.c
@@ -163,13 +163,6 @@ __mutex_lock_common(struct mutex *lock, long state, unsigned int subclass,
struct task_struct *owner;
/*
- * If we own the BKL, then don't spin. The owner of
- * the mutex might be waiting on us to release the BKL.
- */
- if (unlikely(current->lock_depth >= 0))
- break;
-
- /*
* If there's an owner, wait for it to either
* release the lock or go to sleep.
*/