aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorUwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>2010-02-04 20:56:49 +0100
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>2010-03-07 17:04:50 -0800
commit91a99dfc6b57f2e956d10d41123234fad3399212 (patch)
tree8b27b172d8964b3f85b7d9203ff021707975ed1e /arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c
parent831fad2f75f0d7bfc339de81173e7068a3c72276 (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.34-ux500-91a99dfc6b57f2e956d10d41123234fad3399212.tar.gz
platform-drivers: move probe to .devinit.text in arch/arm
A pointer to a probe callback is passed to the core via platform_driver_register and so the function must not disappear when the .init sections are discarded. Otherwise (if also having HOTPLUG=y) unbinding and binding a device to the driver via sysfs will result in an oops as does a device being registered late. An alternative to this patch is using platform_driver_probe instead of platform_driver_register plus removing the pointer to the probe function from the struct platform_driver. Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Ben Dooks <ben-linux@fluff.org> Cc: Dmitry Baryshkov <dbaryshkov@gmail.com> Cc: Eric Miao <eric.miao@marvell.com> Cc: Liam Girdwood <liam.girdwood@wolfsonmicro.com> Cc: Paul Sokolovsky <pmiscml@gmail.com> Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie@rpsys.net> Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: Arnaud Patard <arnaud.patard@rtp-net.org> Acked-by: Dmitry Eremin-Solenikov <dbaryshkov@gmail.com> Acked-by: Kristoffer Ericson <kristoffer.ericson@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c b/arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c
index 506a5e5a9ad..9b6dee5d16d 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c
+++ b/arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c
@@ -130,7 +130,7 @@ void jornada_ssp_end(void)
};
EXPORT_SYMBOL(jornada_ssp_end);
-static int __init jornada_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
+static int __devinit jornada_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
int ret;