aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMarco Elver <elver@google.com>2021-06-04 20:01:11 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-06-05 08:58:11 -0700
commit8fd0e995cc7b6a7a8a40bc03d52a2cd445beeff4 (patch)
tree4add91e0e84e039ee627dcf64748db69bd8aec5b
parent50c25ee97cf6ab011542167ab590c17012cea4ed (diff)
downloadandroid-dev-8fd0e995cc7b6a7a8a40bc03d52a2cd445beeff4.tar.gz
kfence: use TASK_IDLE when awaiting allocation
Since wait_event() uses TASK_UNINTERRUPTIBLE by default, waiting for an allocation counts towards load. However, for KFENCE, this does not make any sense, since there is no busy work we're awaiting. Instead, use TASK_IDLE via wait_event_idle() to not count towards load. BugLink: https://bugzilla.suse.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1185565 Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210521083209.3740269-1-elver@google.com Fixes: 407f1d8c1b5f ("kfence: await for allocation using wait_event") Signed-off-by: Marco Elver <elver@google.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@ACULAB.COM> Cc: Hillf Danton <hdanton@sina.com> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> [5.12+] Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/kfence/core.c6
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/mm/kfence/core.c b/mm/kfence/core.c
index e18fbbd5d9b4..4d21ac44d5d3 100644
--- a/mm/kfence/core.c
+++ b/mm/kfence/core.c
@@ -627,10 +627,10 @@ static void toggle_allocation_gate(struct work_struct *work)
* During low activity with no allocations we might wait a
* while; let's avoid the hung task warning.
*/
- wait_event_timeout(allocation_wait, atomic_read(&kfence_allocation_gate),
- sysctl_hung_task_timeout_secs * HZ / 2);
+ wait_event_idle_timeout(allocation_wait, atomic_read(&kfence_allocation_gate),
+ sysctl_hung_task_timeout_secs * HZ / 2);
} else {
- wait_event(allocation_wait, atomic_read(&kfence_allocation_gate));
+ wait_event_idle(allocation_wait, atomic_read(&kfence_allocation_gate));
}
/* Disable static key and reset timer. */