aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJohn Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>2020-12-09 05:07:00 +0000
committerJohn Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>2021-06-29 23:41:54 +0000
commit1b5bc4811a1ea8cf1386b0162bfdb47c940aaada (patch)
treee0c3b3b35250c69793f34a5ab2f76b3f57049d96
parent66bfeacf61d0ea3b1346096c7b58d46b3025c7b2 (diff)
downloadandroid-dev-dev/buf-deferred-free-drmpagepool.tar.gz
dma-buf: system_heap: Add deferred freeing to the system heapdev/buf-deferred-free-drmpagepool
Utilize the deferred free helper library in the system heap. This provides a nice performance bump and puts the system heap performance on par with ION. Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch> Cc: Christian Koenig <christian.koenig@amd.com> Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org> Cc: Liam Mark <lmark@codeaurora.org> Cc: Chris Goldsworthy <cgoldswo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@kernel.org> Cc: Brian Starkey <Brian.Starkey@arm.com> Cc: Hridya Valsaraju <hridya@google.com> Cc: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com> Cc: Sandeep Patil <sspatil@google.com> Cc: Daniel Mentz <danielmentz@google.com> Cc: Ørjan Eide <orjan.eide@arm.com> Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> Cc: Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@collabora.com> Cc: Simon Ser <contact@emersion.fr> Cc: James Jones <jajones@nvidia.com> Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> Change-Id: I720051c84f7fc459f63de8690731f959f7b404e6 --- v2: * Rework deferred-free api to use reason enum as suggested by Suren Baghdasaryan * Rework for deferred-free api change to use nr_pages rather than size as suggsted by Suren Baghdasaryan v8: * Reworked to drop buffer zeroing logic, as the drm_page_pool now handles that. --- Series TODO: - Cleanup documentation - Consider debug/stats output
-rw-r--r--drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig1
-rw-r--r--drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c28
2 files changed, 23 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
index 7e28934e0def..10632ccfb4a5 100644
--- a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
+++ b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
@@ -5,6 +5,7 @@ config DMABUF_HEAPS_SYSTEM
bool "DMA-BUF System Heap"
depends on DMABUF_HEAPS
select DRM_PAGE_POOL
+ select DMABUF_HEAPS_DEFERRED_FREE
help
Choose this option to enable the system dmabuf heap. The system heap
is backed by pages from the buddy allocator. If in doubt, say Y.
diff --git a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
index 85ceca2ed61d..8a0170b0427e 100644
--- a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
+++ b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
@@ -22,6 +22,7 @@
#include <linux/vmalloc.h>
#include <drm/page_pool.h>
+#include "deferred-free-helper.h"
static struct dma_heap *sys_heap;
@@ -33,6 +34,7 @@ struct system_heap_buffer {
struct sg_table sg_table;
int vmap_cnt;
void *vaddr;
+ struct deferred_freelist_item deferred_free;
};
struct dma_heap_attachment {
@@ -290,27 +292,41 @@ static void system_heap_free_pages(struct drm_page_pool *pool, struct page *p)
__free_pages(p, pool->order);
}
-static void system_heap_dma_buf_release(struct dma_buf *dmabuf)
+static void system_heap_buf_free(struct deferred_freelist_item *item,
+ enum df_reason reason)
{
- struct system_heap_buffer *buffer = dmabuf->priv;
+ struct system_heap_buffer *buffer;
struct sg_table *table;
struct scatterlist *sg;
int i, j;
+ buffer = container_of(item, struct system_heap_buffer, deferred_free);
table = &buffer->sg_table;
for_each_sg(table->sgl, sg, table->nents, i) {
struct page *page = sg_page(sg);
- for (j = 0; j < NUM_ORDERS; j++) {
- if (compound_order(page) == orders[j])
- break;
+ if (reason == DF_UNDER_PRESSURE) {
+ __free_pages(page, compound_order(page));
+ } else {
+ for (j = 0; j < NUM_ORDERS; j++) {
+ if (compound_order(page) == orders[j])
+ break;
+ }
+ drm_page_pool_add(&pools[j], page);
}
- drm_page_pool_add(&pools[j], page);
}
sg_free_table(table);
kfree(buffer);
}
+static void system_heap_dma_buf_release(struct dma_buf *dmabuf)
+{
+ struct system_heap_buffer *buffer = dmabuf->priv;
+ int npages = PAGE_ALIGN(buffer->len) / PAGE_SIZE;
+
+ deferred_free(&buffer->deferred_free, system_heap_buf_free, npages);
+}
+
static const struct dma_buf_ops system_heap_buf_ops = {
.attach = system_heap_attach,
.detach = system_heap_detach,