aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2020-12-10 15:42:20 +1100
committerStephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>2020-12-16 18:03:05 +1100
commitd9db291ba0b658b31726309fb526d792b3f4a716 (patch)
tree674581c4fd34ca3d2a977bd42b46109437619e98
parente0cb591b165c110c6b3baf38838fe4c2255f1822 (diff)
downloadlinux-d9db291ba0b658b31726309fb526d792b3f4a716.tar.gz
mm: add definition of PMD_PAGE_ORDER
Patch series "mm: introduce memfd_secret system call to create "secret" memory areas", v14. This is an implementation of "secret" mappings backed by a file descriptor. The file descriptor backing secret memory mappings is created using a dedicated memfd_secret system call The desired protection mode for the memory is configured using flags parameter of the system call. The mmap() of the file descriptor created with memfd_secret() will create a "secret" memory mapping. The pages in that mapping will be marked as not present in the direct map and will be present only in the page table of the owning mm. Although normally Linux userspace mappings are protected from other users, such secret mappings are useful for environments where a hostile tenant is trying to trick the kernel into giving them access to other tenants mappings. Additionally, in the future the secret mappings may be used as a mean to protect guest memory in a virtual machine host. For demonstration of secret memory usage we've created a userspace library https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/jejb/secret-memory-preloader.git that does two things: the first is act as a preloader for openssl to redirect all the OPENSSL_malloc calls to secret memory meaning any secret keys get automatically protected this way and the other thing it does is expose the API to the user who needs it. We anticipate that a lot of the use cases would be like the openssl one: many toolkits that deal with secret keys already have special handling for the memory to try to give them greater protection, so this would simply be pluggable into the toolkits without any need for user application modification. Hiding secret memory mappings behind an anonymous file allows (ab)use of the page cache for tracking pages allocated for the "secret" mappings as well as using address_space_operations for e.g. page migration callbacks. The anonymous file may be also used implicitly, like hugetlb files, to implement mmap(MAP_SECRET) and use the secret memory areas with "native" mm ABIs in the future. To limit fragmentation of the direct map to splitting only PUD-size pages, I've added an amortizing cache of PMD-size pages to each file descriptor that is used as an allocation pool for the secret memory areas. As the memory allocated by secretmem becomes unmovable, we use CMA to back large page caches so that page allocator won't be surprised by failing attempt to migrate these pages. This patch (of 10): The definition of PMD_PAGE_ORDER denoting the number of base pages in the second-level leaf page is already used by DAX and maybe handy in other cases as well. Several architectures already have definition of PMD_ORDER as the size of second level page table, so to avoid conflict with these definitions use PMD_PAGE_ORDER name and update DAX respectively. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20201203062949.5484-1-rppt@kernel.org Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20201203062949.5484-2-rppt@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christopher Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Elena Reshetova <elena.reshetova@intel.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com> Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com> Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com> Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Hagen Paul Pfeifer <hagen@jauu.net> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmerdabbelt@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
-rw-r--r--fs/dax.c11
-rw-r--r--include/linux/pgtable.h3
2 files changed, 7 insertions, 7 deletions
diff --git a/fs/dax.c b/fs/dax.c
index 26d5dcd2d69e..0f109eb16196 100644
--- a/fs/dax.c
+++ b/fs/dax.c
@@ -49,9 +49,6 @@ static inline unsigned int pe_order(enum page_entry_size pe_size)
#define PG_PMD_COLOUR ((PMD_SIZE >> PAGE_SHIFT) - 1)
#define PG_PMD_NR (PMD_SIZE >> PAGE_SHIFT)
-/* The order of a PMD entry */
-#define PMD_ORDER (PMD_SHIFT - PAGE_SHIFT)
-
static wait_queue_head_t wait_table[DAX_WAIT_TABLE_ENTRIES];
static int __init init_dax_wait_table(void)
@@ -98,7 +95,7 @@ static bool dax_is_locked(void *entry)
static unsigned int dax_entry_order(void *entry)
{
if (xa_to_value(entry) & DAX_PMD)
- return PMD_ORDER;
+ return PMD_PAGE_ORDER;
return 0;
}
@@ -1470,7 +1467,7 @@ static vm_fault_t dax_iomap_pmd_fault(struct vm_fault *vmf, pfn_t *pfnp,
{
struct vm_area_struct *vma = vmf->vma;
struct address_space *mapping = vma->vm_file->f_mapping;
- XA_STATE_ORDER(xas, &mapping->i_pages, vmf->pgoff, PMD_ORDER);
+ XA_STATE_ORDER(xas, &mapping->i_pages, vmf->pgoff, PMD_PAGE_ORDER);
unsigned long pmd_addr = vmf->address & PMD_MASK;
bool write = vmf->flags & FAULT_FLAG_WRITE;
bool sync;
@@ -1529,7 +1526,7 @@ static vm_fault_t dax_iomap_pmd_fault(struct vm_fault *vmf, pfn_t *pfnp,
* entry is already in the array, for instance), it will return
* VM_FAULT_FALLBACK.
*/
- entry = grab_mapping_entry(&xas, mapping, PMD_ORDER);
+ entry = grab_mapping_entry(&xas, mapping, PMD_PAGE_ORDER);
if (xa_is_internal(entry)) {
result = xa_to_internal(entry);
goto fallback;
@@ -1695,7 +1692,7 @@ dax_insert_pfn_mkwrite(struct vm_fault *vmf, pfn_t pfn, unsigned int order)
if (order == 0)
ret = vmf_insert_mixed_mkwrite(vmf->vma, vmf->address, pfn);
#ifdef CONFIG_FS_DAX_PMD
- else if (order == PMD_ORDER)
+ else if (order == PMD_PAGE_ORDER)
ret = vmf_insert_pfn_pmd(vmf, pfn, FAULT_FLAG_WRITE);
#endif
else
diff --git a/include/linux/pgtable.h b/include/linux/pgtable.h
index 8fcdfa52eb4b..ea5c4102c23e 100644
--- a/include/linux/pgtable.h
+++ b/include/linux/pgtable.h
@@ -28,6 +28,9 @@
#define USER_PGTABLES_CEILING 0UL
#endif
+/* Number of base pages in a second level leaf page */
+#define PMD_PAGE_ORDER (PMD_SHIFT - PAGE_SHIFT)
+
/*
* A page table page can be thought of an array like this: pXd_t[PTRS_PER_PxD]
*