aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/boot/video-mode.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2015-12-04x86/mm: Fix regression with huge pages on PAEKirill A. Shutemov
Recent PAT patchset has caused issue on 32-bit PAE machines: page:eea45000 count:0 mapcount:-128 mapping: (null) index:0x0 flags: 0x40000000() page dumped because: VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(page_mapcount(page) < 0) ------------[ cut here ]------------ kernel BUG at /home/build/linux-boris/mm/huge_memory.c:1485! invalid opcode: 0000 [#1] SMP [...] Call Trace: unmap_single_vma ? __wake_up unmap_vmas unmap_region do_munmap vm_munmap SyS_munmap do_fast_syscall_32 ? __do_page_fault sysenter_past_esp Code: ... EIP: [<c11bde80>] zap_huge_pmd+0x240/0x260 SS:ESP 0068:f6459d98 The problem is in pmd_pfn_mask() and pmd_flags_mask(). These helpers use PMD_PAGE_MASK to calculate resulting mask. PMD_PAGE_MASK is 'unsigned long', not 'unsigned long long' as phys_addr_t is on 32-bit PAE (ARCH_PHYS_ADDR_T_64BIT). As a result, the upper bits of resulting mask get truncated. pud_pfn_mask() and pud_flags_mask() aren't problematic since we don't have PUD page table level on 32-bit systems, but it's reasonable to keep them consistent with PMD counterpart. Introduce PHYSICAL_PMD_PAGE_MASK and PHYSICAL_PUD_PAGE_MASK in addition to existing PHYSICAL_PAGE_MASK and reworks helpers to use them. Reported-and-Tested-by: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> [ Fix -Woverflow warnings from the realmode code. ] Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Reviewed-by: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hpe.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: J├╝rgen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: elliott@hpe.com Cc: konrad.wilk@oracle.com Cc: linux-mm <linux-mm@kvack.org> Fixes: f70abb0fc3da ("x86/asm: Fix pud/pmd interfaces to handle large PAT bit") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1448878233-11390-2-git-send-email-bp@alien8.de Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
2015-02-19x86/boot/video: Move the 'video_segment' variable to video.cAlexander Kuleshov
video.c is the only real user of the 'video_segment' variable, so move it to video.c and make it static. Signed-off-by: Alexander Kuleshov <kuleshovmail@gmail.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Martin Mares <mj@ucw.cz> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1422123092-28750-1-git-send-email-kuleshovmail@gmail.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
2008-04-17x86: move suspend wakeup code to CPavel Machek
Move wakeup code to .c, so that video mode setting code can be shared between boot and wakeup. Remove nasty assembly code in 64-bit case by re-using trampoline code. Stack setup was fixed to clear high 16bits of %esp, maybe that fixes some machines. .c code sharing and morse code was done H. Peter Anvin, Sam Ravnborg reviewed kbuild related stuff, and it seems okay to him. Rafael did some cleanups. [rjw: * Made the patch stop breaking compilation on x86-32 * Added arch/x86/kernel/acpi/sleep.h * Got rid of compiler warnings in arch/x86/kernel/acpi/sleep.c * Fixed 32-bit compilation on x86-64 systems * Added include/asm-x86/trampoline.h and fixed the non-SMP compilation on 64-bit x86 * Removed arch/x86/kernel/acpi/sleep_32.c which was not used * Fixed some breakage caused by the integration of smpboot.c done under us in the meantime] Signed-off-by: Pavel Machek <pavel@suse.cz> Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Reviewed-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>