aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/mn10300/include/asm/highmem.h
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2012-03-20highmem: kill all __kmap_atomic()Cong Wang
[swarren@nvidia.com: highmem: Fix ARM build break due to __kmap_atomic rename] Signed-off-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com> Signed-off-by: Cong Wang <amwang@redhat.com>
2010-10-27Merge git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/dhowells/linux-2.6-mn10300Linus Torvalds
* git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/dhowells/linux-2.6-mn10300: (44 commits) MN10300: Save frame pointer in thread_info struct rather than global var MN10300: Change "Matsushita" to "Panasonic". MN10300: Create a defconfig for the ASB2364 board MN10300: Update the ASB2303 defconfig MN10300: ASB2364: Add support for SMSC911X and SMC911X MN10300: ASB2364: Handle the IRQ multiplexer in the FPGA MN10300: Generic time support MN10300: Specify an ELF HWCAP flag for MN10300 Atomic Operations Unit support MN10300: Map userspace atomic op regs as a vmalloc page MN10300: And Panasonic AM34 subarch and implement SMP MN10300: Delete idle_timestamp from irq_cpustat_t MN10300: Make various interrupt priority settings configurable MN10300: Optimise do_csum() MN10300: Implement atomic ops using atomic ops unit MN10300: Make the FPU operate in non-lazy mode under SMP MN10300: SMP TLB flushing MN10300: Use the [ID]PTEL2 registers rather than [ID]PTEL for TLB control MN10300: Make the use of PIDR to mark TLB entries controllable MN10300: Rename __flush_tlb*() to local_flush_tlb*() MN10300: AM34 erratum requires MMUCTR read and write on exception entry ...
2010-10-27mm: fix race in kunmap_atomic()Peter Zijlstra
Christoph reported a nice splat which illustrated a race in the new stack based kmap_atomic implementation. The problem is that we pop our stack slot before we're completely done resetting its state -- in particular clearing the PTE (sometimes that's CONFIG_DEBUG_HIGHMEM). If an interrupt happens before we actually clear the PTE used for the last slot, that interrupt can reuse the slot in a dirty state, which triggers a BUG in kmap_atomic(). Fix this by introducing kmap_atomic_idx() which reports the current slot index without actually releasing it and use that to find the PTE and delay the _pop() until after we're completely done. Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Reported-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-10-27MN10300: Rename __flush_tlb*() to local_flush_tlb*()David Howells
Rename __flush_tlb*() to local_flush_tlb*() as it's more appropriate, and ready to differentiate local from global TLB flushes when SMP is introduced. Whilst we're at it, get rid of __flush_tlb_global() and make local_flush_tlb_page() take an mm_struct pointer rather than VMA pointer. Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
2010-10-26mm: stack based kmap_atomic()Peter Zijlstra
Keep the current interface but ignore the KM_type and use a stack based approach. The advantage is that we get rid of crappy code like: #define __KM_PTE \ (in_nmi() ? KM_NMI_PTE : \ in_irq() ? KM_IRQ_PTE : \ KM_PTE0) and in general can stop worrying about what context we're in and what kmap slots might be appropriate for that. The downside is that FRV kmap_atomic() gets more expensive. For now we use a CPP trick suggested by Andrew: #define kmap_atomic(page, args...) __kmap_atomic(page) to avoid having to touch all kmap_atomic() users in a single patch. [ not compiled on: - mn10300: the arch doesn't actually build with highmem to begin with ] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix up drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_overlay.c] Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@linux.ie> Cc: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-08-09kmap_atomic: make kunmap_atomic() harder to misuseCesar Eduardo Barros
kunmap_atomic() is currently at level -4 on Rusty's "Hard To Misuse" list[1] ("Follow common convention and you'll get it wrong"), except in some architectures when CONFIG_DEBUG_HIGHMEM is set[2][3]. kunmap() takes a pointer to a struct page; kunmap_atomic(), however, takes takes a pointer to within the page itself. This seems to once in a while trip people up (the convention they are following is the one from kunmap()). Make it much harder to misuse, by moving it to level 9 on Rusty's list[4] ("The compiler/linker won't let you get it wrong"). This is done by refusing to build if the type of its first argument is a pointer to a struct page. The real kunmap_atomic() is renamed to kunmap_atomic_notypecheck() (which is what you would call in case for some strange reason calling it with a pointer to a struct page is not incorrect in your code). The previous version of this patch was compile tested on x86-64. [1] http://ozlabs.org/~rusty/index.cgi/tech/2008-04-01.html [2] In these cases, it is at level 5, "Do it right or it will always break at runtime." [3] At least mips and powerpc look very similar, and sparc also seems to share a common ancestor with both; there seems to be quite some degree of copy-and-paste coding here. The include/asm/highmem.h file for these three archs mention x86 CPUs at its top. [4] http://ozlabs.org/~rusty/index.cgi/tech/2008-03-30.html [5] As an aside, could someone tell me why mn10300 uses unsigned long as the first parameter of kunmap_atomic() instead of void *? Signed-off-by: Cesar Eduardo Barros <cesarb@cesarb.net> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> (arch/arm) Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> (arch/mips) Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> (arch/frv, arch/mn10300) Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com> (arch/mn10300) Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> (arch/parisc) Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> (arch/parisc) Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> (arch/parisc) Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> (arch/powerpc) Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> (arch/powerpc) Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> (arch/sparc) Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> (arch/x86) Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> (arch/x86) Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> (arch/x86) Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> (include/asm-generic) Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> ("Hard To Misuse" list) Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-04-10Move arch headers from include/asm-mn10300/ to arch/mn10300/include/asm/.David Howells
Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>