aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/scripts
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSean O. Stalley <sean.stalley@intel.com>2015-09-08 15:02:33 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-09-08 15:35:28 -0700
commit1fc524d74cf40072a2de3f74a920818398dbff30 (patch)
tree0eb168ce6d839778140ba9b2338f6e760926e193 /scripts
parent01a7fd337b2c2af97e9c55bb9406a222a2e209d3 (diff)
downloadlinux-1fc524d74cf40072a2de3f74a920818398dbff30.tar.gz
coccinelle: mm: scripts/coccinelle/api/alloc/pool_zalloc-simple.cocci
add [pci|dma]_pool_zalloc coccinelle check. replaces instances of [pci|dma]_pool_alloc() followed by memset(0) with [pci|dma]_pool_zalloc(). Signed-off-by: Sean O. Stalley <sean.stalley@intel.com> Acked-by: Julia Lawall <julia.lawall@lip6.fr> Cc: Vinod Koul <vinod.koul@intel.com> Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com> Cc: Gilles Muller <Gilles.Muller@lip6.fr> Cc: Nicolas Palix <nicolas.palix@imag.fr> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'scripts')
-rw-r--r--scripts/coccinelle/api/alloc/pool_zalloc-simple.cocci84
1 files changed, 84 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/scripts/coccinelle/api/alloc/pool_zalloc-simple.cocci b/scripts/coccinelle/api/alloc/pool_zalloc-simple.cocci
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..9b7eb321a025
--- /dev/null
+++ b/scripts/coccinelle/api/alloc/pool_zalloc-simple.cocci
@@ -0,0 +1,84 @@
+///
+/// Use *_pool_zalloc rather than *_pool_alloc followed by memset with 0
+///
+// Copyright: (C) 2015 Intel Corp. GPLv2.
+// Options: --no-includes --include-headers
+//
+// Keywords: dma_pool_zalloc, pci_pool_zalloc
+//
+
+virtual context
+virtual patch
+virtual org
+virtual report
+
+//----------------------------------------------------------
+// For context mode
+//----------------------------------------------------------
+
+@depends on context@
+expression x;
+statement S;
+@@
+
+* x = \(dma_pool_alloc\|pci_pool_alloc\)(...);
+ if ((x==NULL) || ...) S
+* memset(x,0, ...);
+
+//----------------------------------------------------------
+// For patch mode
+//----------------------------------------------------------
+
+@depends on patch@
+expression x;
+expression a,b,c;
+statement S;
+@@
+
+- x = dma_pool_alloc(a,b,c);
++ x = dma_pool_zalloc(a,b,c);
+ if ((x==NULL) || ...) S
+- memset(x,0,...);
+
+@depends on patch@
+expression x;
+expression a,b,c;
+statement S;
+@@
+
+- x = pci_pool_alloc(a,b,c);
++ x = pci_pool_zalloc(a,b,c);
+ if ((x==NULL) || ...) S
+- memset(x,0,...);
+
+//----------------------------------------------------------
+// For org and report mode
+//----------------------------------------------------------
+
+@r depends on org || report@
+expression x;
+expression a,b,c;
+statement S;
+position p;
+@@
+
+ x = @p\(dma_pool_alloc\|pci_pool_alloc\)(a,b,c);
+ if ((x==NULL) || ...) S
+ memset(x,0, ...);
+
+@script:python depends on org@
+p << r.p;
+x << r.x;
+@@
+
+msg="%s" % (x)
+msg_safe=msg.replace("[","@(").replace("]",")")
+coccilib.org.print_todo(p[0], msg_safe)
+
+@script:python depends on report@
+p << r.p;
+x << r.x;
+@@
+
+msg="WARNING: *_pool_zalloc should be used for %s, instead of *_pool_alloc/memset" % (x)
+coccilib.report.print_report(p[0], msg)