aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>2018-10-30 15:10:18 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-10-31 08:54:17 -0700
commitd15e59260f62bd5e0f625cf5f5240f6ffac78ab6 (patch)
tree8263d73a0a1d853bbcdc77ade12fa7e5c499220f /mm
parent2f770806fd2c3db9616965e57ba60d80f43c827d (diff)
downloadlinux-d15e59260f62bd5e0f625cf5f5240f6ffac78ab6.tar.gz
mm/memory_hotplug: make remove_memory() take the device_hotplug_lock
Patch series "mm: online/offline_pages called w.o. mem_hotplug_lock", v3. Reading through the code and studying how mem_hotplug_lock is to be used, I noticed that there are two places where we can end up calling device_online()/device_offline() - online_pages()/offline_pages() without the mem_hotplug_lock. And there are other places where we call device_online()/device_offline() without the device_hotplug_lock. While e.g. echo "online" > /sys/devices/system/memory/memory9/state is fine, e.g. echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/memory/memory9/online Will not take the mem_hotplug_lock. However the device_lock() and device_hotplug_lock. E.g. via memory_probe_store(), we can end up calling add_memory()->online_pages() without the device_hotplug_lock. So we can have concurrent callers in online_pages(). We e.g. touch in online_pages() basically unprotected zone->present_pages then. Looks like there is a longer history to that (see Patch #2 for details), and fixing it to work the way it was intended is not really possible. We would e.g. have to take the mem_hotplug_lock in device/base/core.c, which sounds wrong. Summary: We had a lock inversion on mem_hotplug_lock and device_lock(). More details can be found in patch 3 and patch 6. I propose the general rules (documentation added in patch 6): 1. add_memory/add_memory_resource() must only be called with device_hotplug_lock. 2. remove_memory() must only be called with device_hotplug_lock. This is already documented and holds for all callers. 3. device_online()/device_offline() must only be called with device_hotplug_lock. This is already documented and true for now in core code. Other callers (related to memory hotplug) have to be fixed up. 4. mem_hotplug_lock is taken inside of add_memory/remove_memory/ online_pages/offline_pages. To me, this looks way cleaner than what we have right now (and easier to verify). And looking at the documentation of remove_memory, using lock_device_hotplug also for add_memory() feels natural. This patch (of 6): remove_memory() is exported right now but requires the device_hotplug_lock, which is not exported. So let's provide a variant that takes the lock and only export that one. The lock is already held in arch/powerpc/platforms/pseries/hotplug-memory.c drivers/acpi/acpi_memhotplug.c arch/powerpc/platforms/powernv/memtrace.c Apart from that, there are not other users in the tree. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180925091457.28651-2-david@redhat.com Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com> Reviewed-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Rashmica Gupta <rashmica.g@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org> Cc: Rashmica Gupta <rashmica.g@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org> Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com> Cc: Nathan Fontenot <nfont@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: John Allen <jallen@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: YASUAKI ISHIMATSU <yasu.isimatu@gmail.com> Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/memory_hotplug.c9
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/memory_hotplug.c b/mm/memory_hotplug.c
index 41e326472ef9..8f38e689da25 100644
--- a/mm/memory_hotplug.c
+++ b/mm/memory_hotplug.c
@@ -1806,7 +1806,7 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(try_offline_node);
* and online/offline operations before this call, as required by
* try_offline_node().
*/
-void __ref remove_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size)
+void __ref __remove_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size)
{
int ret;
@@ -1835,5 +1835,12 @@ void __ref remove_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size)
mem_hotplug_done();
}
+
+void remove_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size)
+{
+ lock_device_hotplug();
+ __remove_memory(nid, start, size);
+ unlock_device_hotplug();
+}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(remove_memory);
#endif /* CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE */