aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2018-10-30 15:07:44 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-10-31 08:54:15 -0700
commitaca52c39838910605b1063a2243f553aa2a02d5c (patch)
tree4b878e206fd30fb9033bb234e35b7fcae4352c6c /mm
parentb4a991ec584b3ce333342c431c3cc4fef8a690d7 (diff)
downloadlinux-aca52c39838910605b1063a2243f553aa2a02d5c.tar.gz
mm: remove CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK
All architecures use memblock for early memory management. There is no need for the CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK configuration option. [rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com: of/fdt: fixup #ifdefs] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180919103457.GA20545@rapoport-lnx [rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com: csky: fixups after bootmem removal] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180926112744.GC4628@rapoport-lnx [rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com: remove stale #else and the code it protects] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1538067825-24835-1-git-send-email-rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1536927045-23536-4-git-send-email-rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Tested-by: Jonathan Cameron <jonathan.cameron@huawei.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@gmail.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/Kconfig5
-rw-r--r--mm/Makefile2
-rw-r--r--mm/nobootmem.c4
-rw-r--r--mm/page_alloc.c5
4 files changed, 4 insertions, 12 deletions
diff --git a/mm/Kconfig b/mm/Kconfig
index f7cb608f9ab2..d85e39da47ae 100644
--- a/mm/Kconfig
+++ b/mm/Kconfig
@@ -127,9 +127,6 @@ config SPARSEMEM_VMEMMAP
pfn_to_page and page_to_pfn operations. This is the most
efficient option when sufficient kernel resources are available.
-config HAVE_MEMBLOCK
- bool
-
config HAVE_MEMBLOCK_NODE_MAP
bool
@@ -478,7 +475,7 @@ config FRONTSWAP
config CMA
bool "Contiguous Memory Allocator"
- depends on HAVE_MEMBLOCK && MMU
+ depends on MMU
select MIGRATION
select MEMORY_ISOLATION
help
diff --git a/mm/Makefile b/mm/Makefile
index ea5333886593..ca3c844d7a56 100644
--- a/mm/Makefile
+++ b/mm/Makefile
@@ -43,11 +43,11 @@ obj-y := filemap.o mempool.o oom_kill.o fadvise.o \
obj-y += init-mm.o
obj-y += nobootmem.o
+obj-y += memblock.o
ifdef CONFIG_MMU
obj-$(CONFIG_ADVISE_SYSCALLS) += madvise.o
endif
-obj-$(CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK) += memblock.o
obj-$(CONFIG_SWAP) += page_io.o swap_state.o swapfile.o swap_slots.o
obj-$(CONFIG_FRONTSWAP) += frontswap.o
diff --git a/mm/nobootmem.c b/mm/nobootmem.c
index 439af3b765a7..d4d0cd474087 100644
--- a/mm/nobootmem.c
+++ b/mm/nobootmem.c
@@ -23,10 +23,6 @@
#include "internal.h"
-#ifndef CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK
-#error CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK not defined
-#endif
-
#ifndef CONFIG_NEED_MULTIPLE_NODES
struct pglist_data __refdata contig_page_data;
EXPORT_SYMBOL(contig_page_data);
diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index 863d46da6586..59d171f84445 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -6508,8 +6508,7 @@ void __init free_area_init_node(int nid, unsigned long *zones_size,
free_area_init_core(pgdat);
}
-#if defined(CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK) && !defined(CONFIG_FLAT_NODE_MEM_MAP)
-
+#if !defined(CONFIG_FLAT_NODE_MEM_MAP)
/*
* Zero all valid struct pages in range [spfn, epfn), return number of struct
* pages zeroed
@@ -6569,7 +6568,7 @@ void __init zero_resv_unavail(void)
if (pgcnt)
pr_info("Zeroed struct page in unavailable ranges: %lld pages", pgcnt);
}
-#endif /* CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK && !CONFIG_FLAT_NODE_MEM_MAP */
+#endif /* !CONFIG_FLAT_NODE_MEM_MAP */
#ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_NODE_MAP