aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/sched/fair.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorVincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>2020-02-24 09:52:19 +0000
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2020-02-24 11:36:37 +0100
commit070f5e860ee2bf588c99ef7b4c202451faa48236 (patch)
tree7ef45105f4c34caea924b0762ee646c41f311dfe /kernel/sched/fair.c
parent9f68395333ad7f5bfe2f83473fed363d4229f11c (diff)
downloadlinux-070f5e860ee2bf588c99ef7b4c202451faa48236.tar.gz
sched/fair: Take into account runnable_avg to classify group
Take into account the new runnable_avg signal to classify a group and to mitigate the volatility of util_avg in face of intensive migration or new task with random utilization. Signed-off-by: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Reviewed-by: "Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>" Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com> Cc: Phil Auld <pauld@redhat.com> Cc: Hillf Danton <hdanton@sina.com> Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20200224095223.13361-10-mgorman@techsingularity.net
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/sched/fair.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/sched/fair.c31
1 files changed, 30 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index 49b36d62cc35..87521acb3698 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -5469,6 +5469,24 @@ static unsigned long cpu_runnable(struct rq *rq)
return cfs_rq_runnable_avg(&rq->cfs);
}
+static unsigned long cpu_runnable_without(struct rq *rq, struct task_struct *p)
+{
+ struct cfs_rq *cfs_rq;
+ unsigned int runnable;
+
+ /* Task has no contribution or is new */
+ if (cpu_of(rq) != task_cpu(p) || !READ_ONCE(p->se.avg.last_update_time))
+ return cpu_runnable(rq);
+
+ cfs_rq = &rq->cfs;
+ runnable = READ_ONCE(cfs_rq->avg.runnable_avg);
+
+ /* Discount task's runnable from CPU's runnable */
+ lsub_positive(&runnable, p->se.avg.runnable_avg);
+
+ return runnable;
+}
+
static unsigned long capacity_of(int cpu)
{
return cpu_rq(cpu)->cpu_capacity;
@@ -7752,7 +7770,8 @@ struct sg_lb_stats {
unsigned long avg_load; /*Avg load across the CPUs of the group */
unsigned long group_load; /* Total load over the CPUs of the group */
unsigned long group_capacity;
- unsigned long group_util; /* Total utilization of the group */
+ unsigned long group_util; /* Total utilization over the CPUs of the group */
+ unsigned long group_runnable; /* Total runnable time over the CPUs of the group */
unsigned int sum_nr_running; /* Nr of tasks running in the group */
unsigned int sum_h_nr_running; /* Nr of CFS tasks running in the group */
unsigned int idle_cpus;
@@ -7973,6 +7992,10 @@ group_has_capacity(unsigned int imbalance_pct, struct sg_lb_stats *sgs)
if (sgs->sum_nr_running < sgs->group_weight)
return true;
+ if ((sgs->group_capacity * imbalance_pct) <
+ (sgs->group_runnable * 100))
+ return false;
+
if ((sgs->group_capacity * 100) >
(sgs->group_util * imbalance_pct))
return true;
@@ -7998,6 +8021,10 @@ group_is_overloaded(unsigned int imbalance_pct, struct sg_lb_stats *sgs)
(sgs->group_util * imbalance_pct))
return true;
+ if ((sgs->group_capacity * imbalance_pct) <
+ (sgs->group_runnable * 100))
+ return true;
+
return false;
}
@@ -8092,6 +8119,7 @@ static inline void update_sg_lb_stats(struct lb_env *env,
sgs->group_load += cpu_load(rq);
sgs->group_util += cpu_util(i);
+ sgs->group_runnable += cpu_runnable(rq);
sgs->sum_h_nr_running += rq->cfs.h_nr_running;
nr_running = rq->nr_running;
@@ -8367,6 +8395,7 @@ static inline void update_sg_wakeup_stats(struct sched_domain *sd,
sgs->group_load += cpu_load_without(rq, p);
sgs->group_util += cpu_util_without(i, p);
+ sgs->group_runnable += cpu_runnable_without(rq, p);
local = task_running_on_cpu(i, p);
sgs->sum_h_nr_running += rq->cfs.h_nr_running - local;