aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJeffrey Hugo <jhugo@codeaurora.org>2018-05-11 16:01:42 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-05-11 17:28:45 -0700
commitae646f0b9ca135b87bc73ff606ef996c3029780a (patch)
treebd65d4fd7a2473b504d46857c969512f24049d5a /init
parent4ba281d5bd9907355e6b79fb72049c9ed50cc670 (diff)
downloadlinux-ae646f0b9ca135b87bc73ff606ef996c3029780a.tar.gz
init: fix false positives in W+X checking
load_module() creates W+X mappings via __vmalloc_node_range() (from layout_and_allocate()->move_module()->module_alloc()) by using PAGE_KERNEL_EXEC. These mappings are later cleaned up via "call_rcu_sched(&freeinit->rcu, do_free_init)" from do_init_module(). This is a problem because call_rcu_sched() queues work, which can be run after debug_checkwx() is run, resulting in a race condition. If hit, the race results in a nasty splat about insecure W+X mappings, which results in a poor user experience as these are not the mappings that debug_checkwx() is intended to catch. This issue is observed on multiple arm64 platforms, and has been artificially triggered on an x86 platform. Address the race by flushing the queued work before running the arch-defined mark_rodata_ro() which then calls debug_checkwx(). Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1525103946-29526-1-git-send-email-jhugo@codeaurora.org Fixes: e1a58320a38d ("x86/mm: Warn on W^X mappings") Signed-off-by: Jeffrey Hugo <jhugo@codeaurora.org> Reported-by: Timur Tabi <timur@codeaurora.org> Reported-by: Jan Glauber <jan.glauber@caviumnetworks.com> Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Acked-by: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Stephen Smalley <sds@tycho.nsa.gov> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/main.c7
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/init/main.c b/init/main.c
index a404936d85d8..fd37315835b4 100644
--- a/init/main.c
+++ b/init/main.c
@@ -1034,6 +1034,13 @@ __setup("rodata=", set_debug_rodata);
static void mark_readonly(void)
{
if (rodata_enabled) {
+ /*
+ * load_module() results in W+X mappings, which are cleaned up
+ * with call_rcu_sched(). Let's make sure that queued work is
+ * flushed so that we don't hit false positives looking for
+ * insecure pages which are W+X.
+ */
+ rcu_barrier_sched();
mark_rodata_ro();
rodata_test();
} else