aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/net/ethernet/jme.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com>2016-10-20 13:55:16 -0400
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>2016-10-20 14:51:08 -0400
commitd894be57ca92c8a8819ab544d550809e8731137b (patch)
treeed1c26b77203a2aa01485630de17c6c6b28a1a1c /drivers/net/ethernet/jme.c
parent1a61a8f1776758acb5111785c8a1688394fa3a60 (diff)
downloadlinux-d894be57ca92c8a8819ab544d550809e8731137b.tar.gz
ethernet: use net core MTU range checking in more drivers
Somehow, I missed a healthy number of ethernet drivers in the last pass. Most of these drivers either were in need of an updated max_mtu to make jumbo frames possible to enable again. In a few cases, also setting a different min_mtu to match previous lower bounds. There are also a few drivers that had no upper bounds checking, so they're getting a brand new ETH_MAX_MTU that is identical to IP_MAX_MTU, but accessible by includes all ethernet and ethernet-like drivers all have already. acenic: - min_mtu = 0, max_mtu = 9000 amazon/ena: - min_mtu = 128, max_mtu = adapter->max_mtu amd/xgbe: - min_mtu = 0, max_mtu = 9000 sb1250: - min_mtu = 0, max_mtu = 1518 cxgb3: - min_mtu = 81, max_mtu = 65535 cxgb4: - min_mtu = 81, max_mtu = 9600 cxgb4vf: - min_mtu = 81, max_mtu = 65535 benet: - min_mtu = 256, max_mtu = 9000 ibmveth: - min_mtu = 68, max_mtu = 65535 ibmvnic: - min_mtu = adapter->min_mtu, max_mtu = adapter->max_mtu - remove now redundant ibmvnic_change_mtu jme: - min_mtu = 1280, max_mtu = 9202 mv643xx_eth: - min_mtu = 64, max_mtu = 9500 mlxsw: - min_mtu = 0, max_mtu = 65535 - Basically bypassing the core checks, and instead relying on dynamic checks in the respective switch drivers' ndo_change_mtu functions ns83820: - min_mtu = 0 - remove redundant ns83820_change_mtu, only checked for mtu > 1500 netxen: - min_mtu = 0, max_mtu = 8000 (P2), max_mtu = 9600 (P3) qlge: - min_mtu = 1500, max_mtu = 9000 - driver only supports setting mtu to 1500 or 9000, so the core check only rules out < 1500 and > 9000, qlge_change_mtu still needs to check that the value is 1500 or 9000 qualcomm/emac: - min_mtu = 46, max_mtu = 9194 xilinx_axienet: - min_mtu = 64, max_mtu = 9000 Fixes: 61e84623ace3 ("net: centralize net_device min/max MTU checking") CC: netdev@vger.kernel.org CC: Jes Sorensen <jes@trained-monkey.org> CC: Netanel Belgazal <netanel@annapurnalabs.com> CC: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com> CC: Santosh Raspatur <santosh@chelsio.com> CC: Hariprasad S <hariprasad@chelsio.com> CC: Sathya Perla <sathya.perla@broadcom.com> CC: Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com> CC: Sriharsha Basavapatna <sriharsha.basavapatna@broadcom.com> CC: Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com> CC: Thomas Falcon <tlfalcon@linux.vnet.ibm.com> CC: John Allen <jallen@linux.vnet.ibm.com> CC: Guo-Fu Tseng <cooldavid@cooldavid.org> CC: Sebastian Hesselbarth <sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com> CC: Jiri Pirko <jiri@mellanox.com> CC: Ido Schimmel <idosch@mellanox.com> CC: Manish Chopra <manish.chopra@qlogic.com> CC: Sony Chacko <sony.chacko@qlogic.com> CC: Rajesh Borundia <rajesh.borundia@qlogic.com> CC: Timur Tabi <timur@codeaurora.org> CC: Anirudha Sarangi <anirudh@xilinx.com> CC: John Linn <John.Linn@xilinx.com> Signed-off-by: Jarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/net/ethernet/jme.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/ethernet/jme.c12
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/jme.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/jme.c
index 836ebd8ee768..f9fcab54783c 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/jme.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/jme.c
@@ -2357,14 +2357,6 @@ jme_change_mtu(struct net_device *netdev, int new_mtu)
{
struct jme_adapter *jme = netdev_priv(netdev);
- if (new_mtu == jme->old_mtu)
- return 0;
-
- if (((new_mtu + ETH_HLEN) > MAX_ETHERNET_JUMBO_PACKET_SIZE) ||
- ((new_mtu) < IPV6_MIN_MTU))
- return -EINVAL;
-
-
netdev->mtu = new_mtu;
netdev_update_features(netdev);
@@ -3063,6 +3055,10 @@ jme_init_one(struct pci_dev *pdev,
if (using_dac)
netdev->features |= NETIF_F_HIGHDMA;
+ /* MTU range: 1280 - 9202*/
+ netdev->min_mtu = IPV6_MIN_MTU;
+ netdev->max_mtu = MAX_ETHERNET_JUMBO_PACKET_SIZE - ETH_HLEN;
+
SET_NETDEV_DEV(netdev, &pdev->dev);
pci_set_drvdata(pdev, netdev);