aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com>2016-10-17 15:54:17 -0400
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>2016-10-18 11:34:22 -0400
commit44770e1180decf9b483d9b537fdad385a4fbf462 (patch)
tree97dff06ab97f91387a88de2dfb3c6d959609d321 /drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic
parent1281a2c7b814cf5ccdafa49c1410dd5092da0542 (diff)
downloadlinux-44770e1180decf9b483d9b537fdad385a4fbf462.tar.gz
ethernet: use core min/max MTU checking
et131x: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 9216 altera_tse: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 1500 amd8111e: min_mtu 60, max_mtu 9000 bnad: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 9000 macb: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 1500 or 10240 depending on hardware capability xgmac: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 9000 cxgb2: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9582 (pm3393) or 9600 (vsc7326) enic: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 gianfar: min_mtu 50, max_mu 9586 hns_enet: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9578 (v1) or 9706 (v2) ksz884x: min_mtu 60, max_mtu 1894 myri10ge: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 natsemi: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 2024 nfp: min_mtu 68, max_mtu hardware-specific forcedeth: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 1500 or 9100, depending on hardware pch_gbe: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 10300 pasemi_mac: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 9000 qcaspi: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 1500 - remove qcaspi_netdev_change_mtu as it is now redundant rocker: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 sxgbe: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 stmmac: min_mtu 46, max_mtu depends on hardware tehuti: min_mtu 60, max_mtu 16384 - driver had no max mtu checking, but product docs say 16k jumbo packets are supported by the hardware netcp: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9486 - remove netcp_ndo_change_mtu as it is now redundant via-velocity: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 9000 octeon: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 65370 CC: netdev@vger.kernel.org CC: Mark Einon <mark.einon@gmail.com> CC: Vince Bridgers <vbridger@opensource.altera.com> CC: Rasesh Mody <rasesh.mody@qlogic.com> CC: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com> CC: Santosh Raspatur <santosh@chelsio.com> CC: Hariprasad S <hariprasad@chelsio.com> CC: Christian Benvenuti <benve@cisco.com> CC: Sujith Sankar <ssujith@cisco.com> CC: Govindarajulu Varadarajan <_govind@gmx.com> CC: Neel Patel <neepatel@cisco.com> CC: Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@freescale.com> CC: Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com> CC: Salil Mehta <salil.mehta@huawei.com> CC: Hyong-Youb Kim <hykim@myri.com> CC: Jakub Kicinski <jakub.kicinski@netronome.com> CC: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net> CC: Jiri Pirko <jiri@resnulli.us> CC: Byungho An <bh74.an@samsung.com> CC: Girish K S <ks.giri@samsung.com> CC: Vipul Pandya <vipul.pandya@samsung.com> CC: Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com> CC: Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com> CC: Andy Gospodarek <andy@greyhouse.net> CC: Wingman Kwok <w-kwok2@ti.com> CC: Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com> CC: Francois Romieu <romieu@fr.zoreil.com> Signed-off-by: Jarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic')
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_main.c7
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_res.h2
2 files changed, 5 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_main.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_main.c
index 48f82ab6c25b..f514faf8b709 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_main.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_main.c
@@ -1843,9 +1843,6 @@ static int enic_change_mtu(struct net_device *netdev, int new_mtu)
struct enic *enic = netdev_priv(netdev);
int running = netif_running(netdev);
- if (new_mtu < ENIC_MIN_MTU || new_mtu > ENIC_MAX_MTU)
- return -EINVAL;
-
if (enic_is_dynamic(enic) || enic_is_sriov_vf(enic))
return -EOPNOTSUPP;
@@ -2751,6 +2748,10 @@ static int enic_probe(struct pci_dev *pdev, const struct pci_device_id *ent)
netdev->priv_flags |= IFF_UNICAST_FLT;
+ /* MTU range: 68 - 9000 */
+ netdev->min_mtu = ENIC_MIN_MTU;
+ netdev->max_mtu = ENIC_MAX_MTU;
+
err = register_netdev(netdev);
if (err) {
dev_err(dev, "Cannot register net device, aborting\n");
diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_res.h b/drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_res.h
index 69f60afd6577..81f98a8b60e9 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_res.h
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_res.h
@@ -30,7 +30,7 @@
#define ENIC_MIN_RQ_DESCS 64
#define ENIC_MAX_RQ_DESCS 4096
-#define ENIC_MIN_MTU 68
+#define ENIC_MIN_MTU ETH_MIN_MTU
#define ENIC_MAX_MTU 9000
#define ENIC_MULTICAST_PERFECT_FILTERS 32