aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/net/ethernet/altera
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com>2016-10-17 15:54:17 -0400
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>2016-10-18 11:34:22 -0400
commit44770e1180decf9b483d9b537fdad385a4fbf462 (patch)
tree97dff06ab97f91387a88de2dfb3c6d959609d321 /drivers/net/ethernet/altera
parent1281a2c7b814cf5ccdafa49c1410dd5092da0542 (diff)
downloadlinux-44770e1180decf9b483d9b537fdad385a4fbf462.tar.gz
ethernet: use core min/max MTU checking
et131x: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 9216 altera_tse: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 1500 amd8111e: min_mtu 60, max_mtu 9000 bnad: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 9000 macb: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 1500 or 10240 depending on hardware capability xgmac: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 9000 cxgb2: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9582 (pm3393) or 9600 (vsc7326) enic: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 gianfar: min_mtu 50, max_mu 9586 hns_enet: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9578 (v1) or 9706 (v2) ksz884x: min_mtu 60, max_mtu 1894 myri10ge: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 natsemi: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 2024 nfp: min_mtu 68, max_mtu hardware-specific forcedeth: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 1500 or 9100, depending on hardware pch_gbe: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 10300 pasemi_mac: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 9000 qcaspi: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 1500 - remove qcaspi_netdev_change_mtu as it is now redundant rocker: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 sxgbe: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 stmmac: min_mtu 46, max_mtu depends on hardware tehuti: min_mtu 60, max_mtu 16384 - driver had no max mtu checking, but product docs say 16k jumbo packets are supported by the hardware netcp: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9486 - remove netcp_ndo_change_mtu as it is now redundant via-velocity: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 9000 octeon: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 65370 CC: netdev@vger.kernel.org CC: Mark Einon <mark.einon@gmail.com> CC: Vince Bridgers <vbridger@opensource.altera.com> CC: Rasesh Mody <rasesh.mody@qlogic.com> CC: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com> CC: Santosh Raspatur <santosh@chelsio.com> CC: Hariprasad S <hariprasad@chelsio.com> CC: Christian Benvenuti <benve@cisco.com> CC: Sujith Sankar <ssujith@cisco.com> CC: Govindarajulu Varadarajan <_govind@gmx.com> CC: Neel Patel <neepatel@cisco.com> CC: Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@freescale.com> CC: Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com> CC: Salil Mehta <salil.mehta@huawei.com> CC: Hyong-Youb Kim <hykim@myri.com> CC: Jakub Kicinski <jakub.kicinski@netronome.com> CC: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net> CC: Jiri Pirko <jiri@resnulli.us> CC: Byungho An <bh74.an@samsung.com> CC: Girish K S <ks.giri@samsung.com> CC: Vipul Pandya <vipul.pandya@samsung.com> CC: Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com> CC: Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com> CC: Andy Gospodarek <andy@greyhouse.net> CC: Wingman Kwok <w-kwok2@ti.com> CC: Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com> CC: Francois Romieu <romieu@fr.zoreil.com> Signed-off-by: Jarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/net/ethernet/altera')
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse.h1
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse_main.c14
2 files changed, 3 insertions, 12 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse.h b/drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse.h
index e0052003d16f..9b640c8fbc28 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse.h
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse.h
@@ -443,7 +443,6 @@ struct altera_tse_private {
/* RX/TX MAC FIFO configs */
u32 tx_fifo_depth;
u32 rx_fifo_depth;
- u32 max_mtu;
/* Hash filter settings */
u32 hash_filter;
diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse_main.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse_main.c
index bda31f308cc2..cc9787e33acf 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse_main.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/altera/altera_tse_main.c
@@ -994,20 +994,11 @@ static void tse_set_mac(struct altera_tse_private *priv, bool enable)
*/
static int tse_change_mtu(struct net_device *dev, int new_mtu)
{
- struct altera_tse_private *priv = netdev_priv(dev);
- unsigned int max_mtu = priv->max_mtu;
- unsigned int min_mtu = ETH_ZLEN + ETH_FCS_LEN;
-
if (netif_running(dev)) {
netdev_err(dev, "must be stopped to change its MTU\n");
return -EBUSY;
}
- if ((new_mtu < min_mtu) || (new_mtu > max_mtu)) {
- netdev_err(dev, "invalid MTU, max MTU is: %u\n", max_mtu);
- return -EINVAL;
- }
-
dev->mtu = new_mtu;
netdev_update_features(dev);
@@ -1446,15 +1437,16 @@ static int altera_tse_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
of_property_read_bool(pdev->dev.of_node,
"altr,has-supplementary-unicast");
+ priv->dev->min_mtu = ETH_ZLEN + ETH_FCS_LEN;
/* Max MTU is 1500, ETH_DATA_LEN */
- priv->max_mtu = ETH_DATA_LEN;
+ priv->dev->max_mtu = ETH_DATA_LEN;
/* Get the max mtu from the device tree. Note that the
* "max-frame-size" parameter is actually max mtu. Definition
* in the ePAPR v1.1 spec and usage differ, so go with usage.
*/
of_property_read_u32(pdev->dev.of_node, "max-frame-size",
- &priv->max_mtu);
+ &priv->dev->max_mtu);
/* The DMA buffer size already accounts for an alignment bias
* to avoid unaligned access exceptions for the NIOS processor,