aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMinchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>2019-09-25 16:49:15 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-09-25 17:51:41 -0700
commit1a4e58cce84ee88129d5d49c064bd2852b481357 (patch)
treedbada87e6437233779c7d7b0c4434ddbb04a8830 /arch
parent8940b34a4e082ae11498ddae8432f2ac07685d1c (diff)
downloadlinux-1a4e58cce84ee88129d5d49c064bd2852b481357.tar.gz
mm: introduce MADV_PAGEOUT
When a process expects no accesses to a certain memory range for a long time, it could hint kernel that the pages can be reclaimed instantly but data should be preserved for future use. This could reduce workingset eviction so it ends up increasing performance. This patch introduces the new MADV_PAGEOUT hint to madvise(2) syscall. MADV_PAGEOUT can be used by a process to mark a memory range as not expected to be used for a long time so that kernel reclaims *any LRU* pages instantly. The hint can help kernel in deciding which pages to evict proactively. A note: It doesn't apply SWAP_CLUSTER_MAX LRU page isolation limit intentionally because it's automatically bounded by PMD size. If PMD size(e.g., 256) makes some trouble, we could fix it later by limit it to SWAP_CLUSTER_MAX[1]. - man-page material MADV_PAGEOUT (since Linux x.x) Do not expect access in the near future so pages in the specified regions could be reclaimed instantly regardless of memory pressure. Thus, access in the range after successful operation could cause major page fault but never lose the up-to-date contents unlike MADV_DONTNEED. Pages belonging to a shared mapping are only processed if a write access is allowed for the calling process. MADV_PAGEOUT cannot be applied to locked pages, Huge TLB pages, or VM_PFNMAP pages. [1] https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20190710194719.GS29695@dhcp22.suse.cz/ [minchan@kernel.org: clear PG_active on MADV_PAGEOUT] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190802200643.GA181880@google.com [akpm@linux-foundation.org: resolve conflicts with hmm.git] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190726023435.214162-5-minchan@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Reported-by: kbuild test robot <lkp@intel.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Daniel Colascione <dancol@google.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Hillf Danton <hdanton@sina.com> Cc: Joel Fernandes (Google) <joel@joelfernandes.org> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Oleksandr Natalenko <oleksandr@redhat.com> Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com> Cc: Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@google.com> Cc: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com> Cc: Tim Murray <timmurray@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/alpha/include/uapi/asm/mman.h1
-rw-r--r--arch/mips/include/uapi/asm/mman.h1
-rw-r--r--arch/parisc/include/uapi/asm/mman.h1
-rw-r--r--arch/xtensa/include/uapi/asm/mman.h1
4 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/alpha/include/uapi/asm/mman.h b/arch/alpha/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
index f3258fbf03d0..a18ec7f63888 100644
--- a/arch/alpha/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
+++ b/arch/alpha/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
@@ -69,6 +69,7 @@
#define MADV_KEEPONFORK 19 /* Undo MADV_WIPEONFORK */
#define MADV_COLD 20 /* deactivate these pages */
+#define MADV_PAGEOUT 21 /* reclaim these pages */
/* compatibility flags */
#define MAP_FILE 0
diff --git a/arch/mips/include/uapi/asm/mman.h b/arch/mips/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
index 00ad09fc5eb1..57dc2ac4f8bd 100644
--- a/arch/mips/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
+++ b/arch/mips/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
@@ -96,6 +96,7 @@
#define MADV_KEEPONFORK 19 /* Undo MADV_WIPEONFORK */
#define MADV_COLD 20 /* deactivate these pages */
+#define MADV_PAGEOUT 21 /* reclaim these pages */
/* compatibility flags */
#define MAP_FILE 0
diff --git a/arch/parisc/include/uapi/asm/mman.h b/arch/parisc/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
index eb14e3a7b8f3..6fd8871e4081 100644
--- a/arch/parisc/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
+++ b/arch/parisc/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
@@ -49,6 +49,7 @@
#define MADV_DOFORK 11 /* do inherit across fork */
#define MADV_COLD 20 /* deactivate these pages */
+#define MADV_PAGEOUT 21 /* reclaim these pages */
#define MADV_MERGEABLE 65 /* KSM may merge identical pages */
#define MADV_UNMERGEABLE 66 /* KSM may not merge identical pages */
diff --git a/arch/xtensa/include/uapi/asm/mman.h b/arch/xtensa/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
index f926b00ff11f..e5e643752947 100644
--- a/arch/xtensa/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
+++ b/arch/xtensa/include/uapi/asm/mman.h
@@ -104,6 +104,7 @@
#define MADV_KEEPONFORK 19 /* Undo MADV_WIPEONFORK */
#define MADV_COLD 20 /* deactivate these pages */
+#define MADV_PAGEOUT 21 /* reclaim these pages */
/* compatibility flags */
#define MAP_FILE 0