aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_32.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>2017-12-04 15:07:12 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-12-17 13:59:53 +0100
commit1a79797b58cddfa948420a7553241c79c013e3ca (patch)
tree57160262e124ee3c224def88eeb41211d699519f /arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_32.c
parent4f3789e792296e21405f708cf3cb409d7c7d5683 (diff)
downloadlinux-1a79797b58cddfa948420a7553241c79c013e3ca.tar.gz
x86/entry/64: Allocate and enable the SYSENTER stack
This will simplify future changes that want scratch variables early in the SYSENTER handler -- they'll be able to spill registers to the stack. It also lets us get rid of a SWAPGS_UNSAFE_STACK user. This does not depend on CONFIG_IA32_EMULATION=y because we'll want the stack space even without IA32 emulation. As far as I can tell, the reason that this wasn't done from day 1 is that we use IST for #DB and #BP, which is IMO rather nasty and causes a lot more problems than it solves. But, since #DB uses IST, we don't actually need a real stack for SYSENTER (because SYSENTER with TF set will invoke #DB on the IST stack rather than the SYSENTER stack). I want to remove IST usage from these vectors some day, and this patch is a prerequisite for that as well. Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: aliguori@amazon.com Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at Cc: hughd@google.com Cc: keescook@google.com Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171204150605.312726423@linutronix.de Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_32.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_32.c5
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_32.c b/arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_32.c
index dedf428b20b6..52ce4ea16e53 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_32.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/asm-offsets_32.c
@@ -50,11 +50,6 @@ void foo(void)
DEFINE(TSS_sysenter_sp0, offsetof(struct tss_struct, x86_tss.sp0) -
offsetofend(struct tss_struct, SYSENTER_stack));
- /* Offset from cpu_tss to SYSENTER_stack */
- OFFSET(CPU_TSS_SYSENTER_stack, tss_struct, SYSENTER_stack);
- /* Size of SYSENTER_stack */
- DEFINE(SIZEOF_SYSENTER_stack, sizeof(((struct tss_struct *)0)->SYSENTER_stack));
-
#ifdef CONFIG_CC_STACKPROTECTOR
BLANK();
OFFSET(stack_canary_offset, stack_canary, canary);