aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/boot/memory.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-01-29 12:56:13 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-01-29 13:39:32 +0100
commit7410aa1ca377aa8c5ed340647b5228e7b5d0494a (patch)
tree385c54976772eac5e25c8de72682e722d6f2f6a2 /arch/x86/boot/memory.c
parentc5231a57eb406c70a96f8e515abc49daa0af697b (diff)
downloadlinux-7410aa1ca377aa8c5ed340647b5228e7b5d0494a.tar.gz
x86/boot/e820: Separate the E820 ABI structures from the in-kernel structures
Linus pointed out that relying on the compiler to pack structures with enums is fragile not just for the kernel, but for external tooling as well which might rely on our UAPI headers. So separate the two from each other: introduce 'struct boot_e820_entry', which is the boot protocol entry format. This actually simplifies the code, as e820__update_table() is now never called directly with boot protocol table entries - we can rely on append_e820_table() and do a e820__update_table() call afterwards. ( This will allow further simplifications of __e820__update_table(), but that will be done in a separate patch. ) This change also has the side effect of not modifying the bootparams structure anymore - which might be useful for debugging. In theory we could even constify the boot_params structure - at least from the E820 code's point of view. Remove the uapi/asm/e820/types.h file, as it's not used anymore - all kernel side E820 types are defined in asm/e820/types.h. Reported-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Huang, Ying <ying.huang@intel.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Paul Jackson <pj@sgi.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/boot/memory.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/boot/memory.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/boot/memory.c b/arch/x86/boot/memory.c
index db62445b75aa..d9c28c87e477 100644
--- a/arch/x86/boot/memory.c
+++ b/arch/x86/boot/memory.c
@@ -21,8 +21,8 @@ static int detect_memory_e820(void)
{
int count = 0;
struct biosregs ireg, oreg;
- struct e820_entry *desc = boot_params.e820_table;
- static struct e820_entry buf; /* static so it is zeroed */
+ struct boot_e820_entry *desc = boot_params.e820_table;
+ static struct boot_e820_entry buf; /* static so it is zeroed */
initregs(&ireg);
ireg.ax = 0xe820;