aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/c6x
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-11 23:30:31 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-12 10:04:02 -0700
commit8a7f97b902f4fb0d94b355b6b3f1fbd7154cafb9 (patch)
tree5d246cde363bba8494a6e6755ad0a26c2dad5cb8 /arch/c6x
parenta0bf842e89a3842162aa8514b9bf4611c86fee10 (diff)
downloadlinux-8a7f97b902f4fb0d94b355b6b3f1fbd7154cafb9.tar.gz
treewide: add checks for the return value of memblock_alloc*()
Add check for the return value of memblock_alloc*() functions and call panic() in case of error. The panic message repeats the one used by panicing memblock allocators with adjustment of parameters to include only relevant ones. The replacement was mostly automated with semantic patches like the one below with manual massaging of format strings. @@ expression ptr, size, align; @@ ptr = memblock_alloc(size, align); + if (!ptr) + panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=0x%lx\n", __func__, size, align); [anders.roxell@linaro.org: use '%pa' with 'phys_addr_t' type] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190131161046.21886-1-anders.roxell@linaro.org [rppt@linux.ibm.com: fix format strings for panics after memblock_alloc] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548950940-15145-1-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com [rppt@linux.ibm.com: don't panic if the allocation in sparse_buffer_init fails] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190131074018.GD28876@rapoport-lnx [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix xtensa printk warning] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-20-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@linaro.org> Reviewed-by: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky] Acked-by: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> [MIPS] Acked-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> [s390] Reviewed-by: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen] Reviewed-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k] Acked-by: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> [xtensa] Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/c6x')
-rw-r--r--arch/c6x/mm/dma-coherent.c4
-rw-r--r--arch/c6x/mm/init.c3
2 files changed, 7 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/c6x/mm/dma-coherent.c b/arch/c6x/mm/dma-coherent.c
index 0be289839ce0..0d3701bc88f6 100644
--- a/arch/c6x/mm/dma-coherent.c
+++ b/arch/c6x/mm/dma-coherent.c
@@ -138,6 +138,10 @@ void __init coherent_mem_init(phys_addr_t start, u32 size)
dma_bitmap = memblock_alloc(BITS_TO_LONGS(dma_pages) * sizeof(long),
sizeof(long));
+ if (!dma_bitmap)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %zu bytes align=0x%zx\n",
+ __func__, BITS_TO_LONGS(dma_pages) * sizeof(long),
+ sizeof(long));
}
static void c6x_dma_sync(struct device *dev, phys_addr_t paddr, size_t size,
diff --git a/arch/c6x/mm/init.c b/arch/c6x/mm/init.c
index e83c04654238..fe582c3a1794 100644
--- a/arch/c6x/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/c6x/mm/init.c
@@ -40,6 +40,9 @@ void __init paging_init(void)
empty_zero_page = (unsigned long) memblock_alloc(PAGE_SIZE,
PAGE_SIZE);
+ if (!empty_zero_page)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=0x%lx\n",
+ __func__, PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
/*
* Set up user data space