aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/arc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorRob Herring <robh@kernel.org>2018-01-10 15:19:37 -0600
committerRob Herring <robh@kernel.org>2018-10-02 09:23:21 -0500
commit37c8a5fafa3bb7dcdd51774be353be6cb2912b86 (patch)
tree4d31eb8716c1b685ff56d09da3e4ba394c018596 /arch/arc
parentbe7cd2df1d22d29e5f23ce8744fc465cc07cc2bc (diff)
downloadlinux-37c8a5fafa3bb7dcdd51774be353be6cb2912b86.tar.gz
kbuild: consolidate Devicetree dtb build rules
There is nothing arch specific about building dtb files other than their location under /arch/*/boot/dts/. Keeping each arch aligned is a pain. The dependencies and supported targets are all slightly different. Also, a cross-compiler for each arch is needed, but really the host compiler preprocessor is perfectly fine for building dtbs. Move the build rules to a common location and remove the arch specific ones. This is done in a single step to avoid warnings about overriding rules. The build dependencies had been a mixture of 'scripts' and/or 'prepare'. These pull in several dependencies some of which need a target compiler (specifically devicetable-offsets.h) and aren't needed to build dtbs. All that is really needed is dtc, so adjust the dependencies to only be dtc. This change enables support 'dtbs_install' on some arches which were missing the target. Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Acked-by: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Acked-by: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com> Acked-by: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com> Cc: Michal Marek <michal.lkml@markovi.net> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Cc: nios2-dev@lists.rocketboards.org Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org Cc: linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org Signed-off-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arc')
-rw-r--r--arch/arc/Makefile6
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arc/Makefile b/arch/arc/Makefile
index fb026196aaab..5c7bc6d62f43 100644
--- a/arch/arc/Makefile
+++ b/arch/arc/Makefile
@@ -132,11 +132,5 @@ boot_targets += uImage uImage.bin uImage.gz
$(boot_targets): vmlinux
$(Q)$(MAKE) $(build)=$(boot) $(boot)/$@
-%.dtb %.dtb.S %.dtb.o: scripts
- $(Q)$(MAKE) $(build)=$(boot)/dts $(boot)/dts/$@
-
-dtbs: scripts
- $(Q)$(MAKE) $(build)=$(boot)/dts
-
archclean:
$(Q)$(MAKE) $(clean)=$(boot)