aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/arc/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorVineet Gupta <Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com>2019-11-30 17:51:06 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-12-01 06:29:19 -0800
commit6aae3425aa9ca776e8201a93494a4a482353d2c3 (patch)
tree92a2ea5d629f3f56c6fde9d5f04e3c2581166f79 /arch/arc/include
parentff68dac6d65cd1347dad5d780dd8c90f29dc1b0b (diff)
downloadlinux-6aae3425aa9ca776e8201a93494a4a482353d2c3.tar.gz
ARC: mm: remove __ARCH_USE_5LEVEL_HACK
Patch series "elide extraneous generated code for folded p4d/pud/pmd", v3. This series came out of seemingly benign excursion into understanding/removing __ARCH_USE_5LEVEL_HACK from ARC port showing some extraneous code being generated despite folded p4d/pud/pmd | bloat-o-meter2 vmlinux-[AB]* | add/remove: 0/0 grow/shrink: 3/0 up/down: 130/0 (130) | function old new delta | free_pgd_range 548 660 +112 | p4d_clear_bad 2 20 +18 The patches here address that | bloat-o-meter2 vmlinux-[BF]* | add/remove: 0/2 grow/shrink: 0/1 up/down: 0/-386 (-386) | function old new delta | pud_clear_bad 20 - -20 | p4d_clear_bad 20 - -20 | free_pgd_range 660 314 -346 The code savings are not a whole lot, but still worthwhile IMHO. This patch (of 5): With paging code made 5-level compliant, this is no longer needed. ARC has software page walker with 2 lookup levels (pgd -> pte) This was expected to be non functional change but ended with slight code bloat due to needless inclusions of p*d_free_tlb() macros which will be addressed in further patches. | bloat-o-meter2 vmlinux-[AB]* | add/remove: 0/0 grow/shrink: 2/0 up/down: 128/0 (128) | function old new delta | free_pgd_range 546 656 +110 | p4d_clear_bad 2 20 +18 | Total: Before=4137148, After=4137276, chg 0.000000% Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191016162400.14796-2-vgupta@synopsys.com Signed-off-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arc/include')
-rw-r--r--arch/arc/include/asm/pgtable.h1
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arc/include/asm/pgtable.h b/arch/arc/include/asm/pgtable.h
index 7addd0301c51..b917b596f7fb 100644
--- a/arch/arc/include/asm/pgtable.h
+++ b/arch/arc/include/asm/pgtable.h
@@ -33,7 +33,6 @@
#define _ASM_ARC_PGTABLE_H
#include <linux/bits.h>
-#define __ARCH_USE_5LEVEL_HACK
#include <asm-generic/pgtable-nopmd.h>
#include <asm/page.h>
#include <asm/mmu.h> /* to propagate CONFIG_ARC_MMU_VER <n> */