aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGuo Ziliang <guo.ziliang@zte.com.cn>2022-03-16 16:15:03 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2022-03-17 11:02:13 -0700
commit029c4628b2eb2ca969e9bf979b05dc18d8d5575e (patch)
tree1b6a18b9b8cf5c77547adb47f63a2615510b7043
parent56e337f2cf1326323844927a04e9dbce9a244835 (diff)
downloadlinux-029c4628b2eb2ca969e9bf979b05dc18d8d5575e.tar.gz
mm: swap: get rid of livelock in swapin readahead
In our testing, a livelock task was found. Through sysrq printing, same stack was found every time, as follows: __swap_duplicate+0x58/0x1a0 swapcache_prepare+0x24/0x30 __read_swap_cache_async+0xac/0x220 read_swap_cache_async+0x58/0xa0 swapin_readahead+0x24c/0x628 do_swap_page+0x374/0x8a0 __handle_mm_fault+0x598/0xd60 handle_mm_fault+0x114/0x200 do_page_fault+0x148/0x4d0 do_translation_fault+0xb0/0xd4 do_mem_abort+0x50/0xb0 The reason for the livelock is that swapcache_prepare() always returns EEXIST, indicating that SWAP_HAS_CACHE has not been cleared, so that it cannot jump out of the loop. We suspect that the task that clears the SWAP_HAS_CACHE flag never gets a chance to run. We try to lower the priority of the task stuck in a livelock so that the task that clears the SWAP_HAS_CACHE flag will run. The results show that the system returns to normal after the priority is lowered. In our testing, multiple real-time tasks are bound to the same core, and the task in the livelock is the highest priority task of the core, so the livelocked task cannot be preempted. Although cond_resched() is used by __read_swap_cache_async, it is an empty function in the preemptive system and cannot achieve the purpose of releasing the CPU. A high-priority task cannot release the CPU unless preempted by a higher-priority task. But when this task is already the highest priority task on this core, other tasks will not be able to be scheduled. So we think we should replace cond_resched() with schedule_timeout_uninterruptible(1), schedule_timeout_interruptible will call set_current_state first to set the task state, so the task will be removed from the running queue, so as to achieve the purpose of giving up the CPU and prevent it from running in kernel mode for too long. (akpm: ugly hack becomes uglier. But it fixes the issue in a backportable-to-stable fashion while we hopefully work on something better) Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20220221111749.1928222-1-cgel.zte@gmail.com Signed-off-by: Guo Ziliang <guo.ziliang@zte.com.cn> Reported-by: Zeal Robot <zealci@zte.com.cn> Reviewed-by: Ran Xiaokai <ran.xiaokai@zte.com.cn> Reviewed-by: Jiang Xuexin <jiang.xuexin@zte.com.cn> Reviewed-by: Yang Yang <yang.yang29@zte.com.cn> Acked-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Roger Quadros <rogerq@kernel.org> Cc: Ziliang Guo <guo.ziliang@zte.com.cn> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/swap_state.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/swap_state.c b/mm/swap_state.c
index 8d4104242100..ee67164531c0 100644
--- a/mm/swap_state.c
+++ b/mm/swap_state.c
@@ -478,7 +478,7 @@ struct page *__read_swap_cache_async(swp_entry_t entry, gfp_t gfp_mask,
* __read_swap_cache_async(), which has set SWAP_HAS_CACHE
* in swap_map, but not yet added its page to swap cache.
*/
- cond_resched();
+ schedule_timeout_uninterruptible(1);
}
/*