aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/ipc/Makefile
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2014-12-13ipc/msg: increase MSGMNI, remove scalingManfred Spraul
SysV can be abused to allocate locked kernel memory. For most systems, a small limit doesn't make sense, see the discussion with regards to SHMMAX. Therefore: increase MSGMNI to the maximum supported. And: If we ignore the risk of locking too much memory, then an automatic scaling of MSGMNI doesn't make sense. Therefore the logic can be removed. The code preserves auto_msgmni to avoid breaking any user space applications that expect that the value exists. Notes: 1) If an administrator must limit the memory allocations, then he can set MSGMNI as necessary. Or he can disable sysv entirely (as e.g. done by Android). 2) MSGMAX and MSGMNB are intentionally not increased, as these values are used to control latency vs. throughput: If MSGMNB is large, then msgsnd() just returns and more messages can be queued before a task switch to a task that calls msgrcv() is forced. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] Signed-off-by: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net> Cc: Rafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-03-12Add generic sys_ipc wrapperChristoph Hellwig
Add a generic implementation of the ipc demultiplexer syscall. Except for s390 and sparc64 all implementations of the sys_ipc are nearly identical. There are slight differences in the types of the parameters, where mips and powerpc as the only 64-bit architectures with sys_ipc use unsigned long for the "third" argument as it gets casted to a pointer later, while it traditionally is an "int" like most other paramters. frv goes even further and uses unsigned long for all parameters execept for "ptr" which is a pointer type everywhere. The change from int to unsigned long for "third" and back to "int" for the others on frv should be fine due to the in-register calling conventions for syscalls (we already had a similar issue with the generic sys_ptrace), but I'd prefer to have the arch maintainers looks over this in details. Except for that h8300, m68k and m68knommu lack an impplementation of the semtimedop sub call which this patch adds, and various architectures have gets used - at least on i386 it seems superflous as the compat code on x86-64 and ia64 doesn't even bother to implement it. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: add sys_ipc to sys_ni.c] Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Reviewed-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org> Cc: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org> Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Acked-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Acked-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-04-07namespaces: mqueue namespace: adapt sysctlSerge E. Hallyn
Largely inspired from ipc/ipc_sysctl.c. This patch isolates the mqueue sysctl stuff in its own file. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: build fix] Signed-off-by: Cedric Le Goater <clg@fr.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Nadia Derbey <Nadia.Derbey@bull.net> Signed-off-by: Serge E. Hallyn <serue@us.ibm.com> Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-04-29ipc: recompute msgmni on ipc namespace creation/removalNadia Derbey
Introduce a notification mechanism that aims at recomputing msgmni each time an ipc namespace is created or removed. The ipc namespace notifier chain already defined for memory hotplug management is used for that purpose too. Each time a new ipc namespace is allocated or an existing ipc namespace is removed, the ipcns notifier chain is notified. The callback routine for each registered ipc namespace is then activated in order to recompute msgmni for that namespace. Signed-off-by: Nadia Derbey <Nadia.Derbey@bull.net> Cc: Yasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com> Cc: Mingming Cao <cmm@us.ibm.com> Cc: Pierre Peiffer <pierre.peiffer@bull.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-04-29ipc: recompute msgmni on memory add / removeNadia Derbey
Introduce the registration of a callback routine that recomputes msg_ctlmni upon memory add / remove. A single notifier block is registered in the hotplug memory chain for all the ipc namespaces. Since the ipc namespaces are not linked together, they have their own notification chain: one notifier_block is defined per ipc namespace. Each time an ipc namespace is created (removed) it registers (unregisters) its notifier block in (from) the ipcns chain. The callback routine registered in the memory chain invokes the ipcns notifier chain with the IPCNS_LOWMEM event. Each callback routine registered in the ipcns namespace, in turn, recomputes msgmni for the owning namespace. Signed-off-by: Nadia Derbey <Nadia.Derbey@bull.net> Cc: Yasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com> Cc: Mingming Cao <cmm@us.ibm.com> Cc: Pierre Peiffer <pierre.peiffer@bull.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-02-08namespaces: move the IPC namespace under IPC_NS optionPavel Emelyanov
Currently the IPC namespace management code is spread over the ipc/*.c files. I moved this code into ipc/namespace.c file which is compiled out when needed. The linux/ipc_namespace.h file is used to store the prototypes of the functions in namespace.c and the stubs for NAMESPACES=n case. This is done so, because the stub for copy_ipc_namespace requires the knowledge of the CLONE_NEWIPC flag, which is in sched.h. But the linux/ipc.h file itself in included into many many .c files via the sys.h->sem.h sequence so adding the sched.h into it will make all these .c depend on sched.h which is not that good. On the other hand the knowledge about the namespaces stuff is required in 4 .c files only. Besides, this patch compiles out some auxiliary functions from ipc/sem.c, msg.c and shm.c files. It turned out that moving these functions into namespaces.c is not that easy because they use many other calls and macros from the original file. Moving them would make this patch complicated. On the other hand all these functions can be consolidated, so I will send a separate patch doing this a bit later. Signed-off-by: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org> Acked-by: Serge Hallyn <serue@us.ibm.com> Cc: Cedric Le Goater <clg@fr.ibm.com> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Herbert Poetzl <herbert@13thfloor.at> Cc: Kirill Korotaev <dev@sw.ru> Cc: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-02-14[PATCH] sysctl: move SYSV IPC sysctls to their own fileEric W. Biederman
This is just a simple cleanup to keep kernel/sysctl.c from getting to crowded with special cases, and by keeping all of the ipc logic to together it makes the code a little more readable. [gcoady.lk@gmail.com: build fix] Signed-off-by: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Serge E. Hallyn <serue@us.ibm.com> Cc: Herbert Poetzl <herbert@13thfloor.at> Cc: Kirill Korotaev <dev@sw.ru> Signed-off-by: Grant Coady <gcoady.lk@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2005-04-16Linux-2.6.12-rc2v2.6.12-rc2Linus Torvalds
Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history, even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about 3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good infrastructure for it. Let it rip!