aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include/linux/zsmalloc.h
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2015-04-15zsmalloc: support compactionMinchan Kim
This patch provides core functions for migration of zsmalloc. Migraion policy is simple as follows. for each size class { while { src_page = get zs_page from ZS_ALMOST_EMPTY if (!src_page) break; dst_page = get zs_page from ZS_ALMOST_FULL if (!dst_page) dst_page = get zs_page from ZS_ALMOST_EMPTY if (!dst_page) break; migrate(from src_page, to dst_page); } } For migration, we need to identify which objects in zspage are allocated to migrate them out. We could know it by iterating of freed objects in a zspage because first_page of zspage keeps free objects singly-linked list but it's not efficient. Instead, this patch adds a tag(ie, OBJ_ALLOCATED_TAG) in header of each object(ie, handle) so we could check whether the object is allocated easily. This patch adds another status bit in handle to synchronize between user access through zs_map_object and migration. During migration, we cannot move objects user are using due to data coherency between old object and new object. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: zsmalloc.c needs sched.h for cond_resched()] Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Juneho Choi <juno.choi@lge.com> Cc: Gunho Lee <gunho.lee@lge.com> Cc: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@google.com> Cc: Dan Streetman <ddstreet@ieee.org> Cc: Seth Jennings <sjennings@variantweb.net> Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org> Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2015-02-12mm/zpool: add name argument to create zpoolGanesh Mahendran
Currently the underlay of zpool: zsmalloc/zbud, do not know who creates them. There is not a method to let zsmalloc/zbud find which caller they belong to. Now we want to add statistics collection in zsmalloc. We need to name the debugfs dir for each pool created. The way suggested by Minchan Kim is to use a name passed by caller(such as zram) to create the zsmalloc pool. /sys/kernel/debug/zsmalloc/zram0 This patch adds an argument `name' to zs_create_pool() and other related functions. Signed-off-by: Ganesh Mahendran <opensource.ganesh@gmail.com> Acked-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Seth Jennings <sjennings@variantweb.net> Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org> Cc: Dan Streetman <ddstreet@ieee.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2014-10-09zsmalloc: change return value unit of zs_get_total_size_bytesMinchan Kim
zs_get_total_size_bytes returns a amount of memory zsmalloc consumed with *byte unit* but zsmalloc operates *page unit* rather than byte unit so let's change the API so benefit we could get is that reduce unnecessary overhead (ie, change page unit with byte unit) in zsmalloc. Since return type is pages, "zs_get_total_pages" is better than "zs_get_total_size_bytes". Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Reviewed-by: Dan Streetman <ddstreet@ieee.org> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com> Cc: <juno.choi@lge.com> Cc: <seungho1.park@lge.com> Cc: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@google.com> Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org> Cc: Seth Jennings <sjennings@variantweb.net> Cc: David Horner <ds2horner@gmail.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2014-01-30zsmalloc: add copyrightMinchan Kim
Add my copyright to the zsmalloc source code which I maintain. Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2014-01-30zsmalloc: move it under mmMinchan Kim
This patch moves zsmalloc under mm directory. Before that, description will explain why we have needed custom allocator. Zsmalloc is a new slab-based memory allocator for storing compressed pages. It is designed for low fragmentation and high allocation success rate on large object, but <= PAGE_SIZE allocations. zsmalloc differs from the kernel slab allocator in two primary ways to achieve these design goals. zsmalloc never requires high order page allocations to back slabs, or "size classes" in zsmalloc terms. Instead it allows multiple single-order pages to be stitched together into a "zspage" which backs the slab. This allows for higher allocation success rate under memory pressure. Also, zsmalloc allows objects to span page boundaries within the zspage. This allows for lower fragmentation than could be had with the kernel slab allocator for objects between PAGE_SIZE/2 and PAGE_SIZE. With the kernel slab allocator, if a page compresses to 60% of it original size, the memory savings gained through compression is lost in fragmentation because another object of the same size can't be stored in the leftover space. This ability to span pages results in zsmalloc allocations not being directly addressable by the user. The user is given an non-dereferencable handle in response to an allocation request. That handle must be mapped, using zs_map_object(), which returns a pointer to the mapped region that can be used. The mapping is necessary since the object data may reside in two different noncontigious pages. The zsmalloc fulfills the allocation needs for zram perfectly [sjenning@linux.vnet.ibm.com: borrow Seth's quote] Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Acked-by: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org> Reviewed-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> Cc: Bob Liu <bob.liu@oracle.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@google.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Seth Jennings <sjenning@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>