aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/blackfin/boot
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2013-05-07blackfin: rename vmImage to uImage after we move to buildrootSonic Zhang
rename vmImage to uImage update blackfin targets name Signed-off-by: Sonic Zhang <sonic.zhang@analog.com> Signed-off-by: Steven Miao <realmz6@gmail.com>
2012-03-26Kbuild: centralize MKIMAGE and cmd_uimage definitionsStephen Warren
All ARCHs have the same definition of MKIMAGE. Move it to Makefile.lib to avoid duplication. All ARCHs have similar definitions of cmd_uimage. Place a sufficiently parameterized version in Makefile.lib to avoid duplication. Signed-off-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org> Acked-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@linaro.org> Tested-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> [Blackfin] Tested-by: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> [Microblaze] Tested-by: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn> [unicore32] Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
2011-01-10Blackfin: encode cpu-rev into uImage nameMike Frysinger
Encoding the cpu family name apparently confuses people when they try to boot an image on a sub-variant, so encode the specific cpu name and the silicon rev instead. Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
2010-08-06Blackfin: add support for LZO compressed kernelsMike Frysinger
Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
2010-03-09Blackfin: initial XIP supportBarry Song
Signed-off-by: Barry Song <barry.song@analog.com> Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
2009-12-15Blackfin: add an uncompressed vmImage targetMike Frysinger
This is useful for quick tests where networks are faster than compression, and/or the compression code is broken. Reported-by: Magnus Damm <damm@igel.co.jp> Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
2009-09-20kbuild: use INSTALLKERNEL to select customized installkernel scriptSam Ravnborg
Replace the use of CROSS_COMPILE to select a customized installkernel script with the possibility to set INSTALLKERNEL to select a custom installkernel script when running make: make INSTALLKERNEL=arm-installkernel install With this patch we are now more consistent across different architectures - they did not all support use of CROSS_COMPILE. The use of CROSS_COMPILE was a hack as this really belongs to gcc/binutils and the installkernel script does not change just because we change toolchain. The use of CROSS_COMPILE caused troubles with an upcoming patch that saves CROSS_COMPILE when a kernel is built - it would no longer be installable. [Thanks to Peter Z. for this hint] This patch undos what Ian did in commit: 0f8e2d62fa04441cd12c08ce521e84e5bd3f8a46 ("use ${CROSS_COMPILE}installkernel in arch/*/boot/install.sh") The patch has been lightly tested on x86 only - but all changes looks obvious. Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> [blackfin] Acked-by: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> [arm] Acked-by: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> [sh] Acked-by: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> [x86] Cc: Ian Campbell <icampbell@arcom.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> [ia64] Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> [ia64] Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> [m32r] Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k] Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> [parisc] Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> [powerpc] Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> [s390] Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> [x86] Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> [x86] Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
2009-06-22Blackfin: stick the CPU name into boot image nameRobin Getz
Rather than use "Linux" in the boot image name (as this is redundant -- the image type is already set to "linux"), use the CPU name. This makes it fairly obvious when a wrong image is accidentally booted. Otherwise there is no kernel output and you waste time scratching your head wondering wtf just happened. Signed-off-by: Robin Getz <rgetz@blackfin.uclinux.org> Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
2009-06-13Blackfin: add support for bzip2/lzma compressed kernel imagesMike Frysinger
Since U-Boot can support these compression types, add appropriate targets to the Blackfin boot files. Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
2008-12-03kbuild: use KECHO convenience echoMike Frysinger
Convert a few echos in the build system to new $(kecho) so we get correct output according to build verbosity. Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> [sam: added kecho in a few more places for O=... builds] Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
2008-04-25[Blackfin] arch: add include/boot .gitignore filesMike Frysinger
Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Bryan Wu <cooloney@kernel.org>
2007-10-22Blackfin arch: add a cheesy install targetMike Frysinger
Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <michael.frysinger@analog.com> Signed-off-by: Bryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com>
2007-07-12Blackfin arch: extract the entry point from the linked kernelMike Frysinger
extract the entry point from the linked kernel rather than assuming entry point == load address Signed-off-by: Bryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com>
2007-05-07blackfin architectureBryan Wu
This adds support for the Analog Devices Blackfin processor architecture, and currently supports the BF533, BF532, BF531, BF537, BF536, BF534, and BF561 (Dual Core) devices, with a variety of development platforms including those avaliable from Analog Devices (BF533-EZKit, BF533-STAMP, BF537-STAMP, BF561-EZKIT), and Bluetechnix! Tinyboards. The Blackfin architecture was jointly developed by Intel and Analog Devices Inc. (ADI) as the Micro Signal Architecture (MSA) core and introduced it in December of 2000. Since then ADI has put this core into its Blackfin processor family of devices. The Blackfin core has the advantages of a clean, orthogonal,RISC-like microprocessor instruction set. It combines a dual-MAC (Multiply/Accumulate), state-of-the-art signal processing engine and single-instruction, multiple-data (SIMD) multimedia capabilities into a single instruction-set architecture. The Blackfin architecture, including the instruction set, is described by the ADSP-BF53x/BF56x Blackfin Processor Programming Reference http://blackfin.uclinux.org/gf/download/frsrelease/29/2549/Blackfin_PRM.pdf The Blackfin processor is already supported by major releases of gcc, and there are binary and source rpms/tarballs for many architectures at: http://blackfin.uclinux.org/gf/project/toolchain/frs There is complete documentation, including "getting started" guides available at: http://docs.blackfin.uclinux.org/ which provides links to the sources and patches you will need in order to set up a cross-compiling environment for bfin-linux-uclibc This patch, as well as the other patches (toolchain, distribution, uClibc) are actively supported by Analog Devices Inc, at: http://blackfin.uclinux.org/ We have tested this on LTP, and our test plan (including pass/fails) can be found at: http://docs.blackfin.uclinux.org/doku.php?id=testing_the_linux_kernel [m.kozlowski@tuxland.pl: balance parenthesis in blackfin header files] Signed-off-by: Bryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com> Signed-off-by: Mariusz Kozlowski <m.kozlowski@tuxland.pl> Signed-off-by: Aubrey Li <aubrey.li@analog.com> Signed-off-by: Jie Zhang <jie.zhang@analog.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>