aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2012-05-29rescounters: add res_counter_uncharge_until()Frederic Weisbecker
When killing a res_counter which is a child of other counter, we need to do res_counter_uncharge(child, xxx) res_counter_charge(parent, xxx) This is not atomic and wastes CPU. This patch adds res_counter_uncharge_until(). This function's uncharge propagates to ancestors until specified res_counter. res_counter_uncharge_until(child, parent, xxx) Now the operation is atomic and efficient. Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com> Cc: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com> Reviewed-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2012-04-27res_counter: Merge res_counter_charge and res_counter_charge_nofailFrederic Weisbecker
These two functions do almost the same thing and duplicate some code. Merge their implementation into a single common function. res_counter_charge_locked() takes one more parameter but it doesn't seem to be used outside res_counter.c yet anyway. There is no (intended) change in the behaviour. Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Acked-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Acked-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com> Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name> Cc: Li Zefan <lizefan@huawei.com>
2009-04-13res_counter: update documentationAndrea Righi
After the introduction of resource counters hierarchies (28dbc4b6a01fb579a9441c7b81e3d3413dc452df) the prototypes of res_counter_init() and res_counter_charge() have been changed. Keep the documentation consistent with the actual function prototypes. Signed-off-by: Andrea Righi <righi.andrea@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Menage <menage@google.com> Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org> Cc: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-01-15cgroups: consolidate cgroup documentsLi Zefan
Move Documentation/cpusets.txt and Documentation/controllers/* to Documentation/cgroups/ Signed-off-by: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com> Acked-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Acked-by: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Paul Menage <menage@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>