aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGreg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>2011-02-25 14:44:13 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2011-02-25 15:07:36 -0800
commita879bf582dfb3a79d30d76ca3af2ae8a0f39010c (patch)
tree6ca0b3f361f80a1a996af0d46378ae5943098656 /mm
parent22bacca48a1755f79b7e0f192ddb9fbb7fc6e64e (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-a879bf582dfb3a79d30d76ca3af2ae8a0f39010c.tar.gz
mm: grab rcu read lock in move_pages()
The move_pages() usage of find_task_by_vpid() requires rcu_read_lock() to prevent free_pid() from reclaiming the pid. Without this patch, RCU warnings are printed in v2.6.38-rc4 move_pages() with: CONFIG_LOCKUP_DETECTOR=y CONFIG_PREEMPT=y CONFIG_LOCKDEP=y CONFIG_PROVE_LOCKING=y CONFIG_PROVE_RCU=y Previously, migrate_pages() went through a similar transformation replacing usage of tasklist_lock with rcu read lock: commit 55cfaa3cbdd29c4919ecb5fb8965c310f357e48c Author: Zeng Zhaoming <zengzm.kernel@gmail.com> Date: Thu Dec 2 14:31:13 2010 -0800 mm/mempolicy.c: add rcu read lock to protect pid structure commit 1e50df39f6e2c3a4a3394df62baa8a213df16c54 Author: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Date: Thu Jan 13 15:46:14 2011 -0800 mempolicy: remove tasklist_lock from migrate_pages Signed-off-by: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Zeng Zhaoming <zengzm.kernel@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/migrate.c6
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/mm/migrate.c b/mm/migrate.c
index 766115253807..352de555626c 100644
--- a/mm/migrate.c
+++ b/mm/migrate.c
@@ -1287,14 +1287,14 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE6(move_pages, pid_t, pid, unsigned long, nr_pages,
return -EPERM;
/* Find the mm_struct */
- read_lock(&tasklist_lock);
+ rcu_read_lock();
task = pid ? find_task_by_vpid(pid) : current;
if (!task) {
- read_unlock(&tasklist_lock);
+ rcu_read_unlock();
return -ESRCH;
}
mm = get_task_mm(task);
- read_unlock(&tasklist_lock);
+ rcu_read_unlock();
if (!mm)
return -EINVAL;