aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMinchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>2014-10-09 15:29:50 -0700
committerAlex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org>2015-05-11 21:23:23 +0800
commit70a5d237c239ddde3c055784980635e39bd93885 (patch)
treef1a77abc4c41e043429ba76470620d10c04b803a /mm
parent8ccca7290fdce49995c32fc514ff8281d476e417 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-70a5d237c239ddde3c055784980635e39bd93885.tar.gz
zsmalloc: change return value unit of zs_get_total_size_bytes
zs_get_total_size_bytes returns a amount of memory zsmalloc consumed with *byte unit* but zsmalloc operates *page unit* rather than byte unit so let's change the API so benefit we could get is that reduce unnecessary overhead (ie, change page unit with byte unit) in zsmalloc. Since return type is pages, "zs_get_total_pages" is better than "zs_get_total_size_bytes". Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Reviewed-by: Dan Streetman <ddstreet@ieee.org> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com> Cc: <juno.choi@lge.com> Cc: <seungho1.park@lge.com> Cc: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@google.com> Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org> Cc: Seth Jennings <sjennings@variantweb.net> Cc: David Horner <ds2horner@gmail.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> (cherry picked from commit 722cdc17232f0f684011407f7cf3c40d39457971) Signed-off-by: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/zsmalloc.c9
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/mm/zsmalloc.c b/mm/zsmalloc.c
index 261be4654848..a255c6e87cab 100644
--- a/mm/zsmalloc.c
+++ b/mm/zsmalloc.c
@@ -296,7 +296,7 @@ static void zs_zpool_unmap(void *pool, unsigned long handle)
static u64 zs_zpool_total_size(void *pool)
{
- return zs_get_total_size_bytes(pool);
+ return zs_get_total_pages(pool) << PAGE_SHIFT;
}
static struct zpool_driver zs_zpool_driver = {
@@ -1148,12 +1148,11 @@ void zs_unmap_object(struct zs_pool *pool, unsigned long handle)
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(zs_unmap_object);
-u64 zs_get_total_size_bytes(struct zs_pool *pool)
+unsigned long zs_get_total_pages(struct zs_pool *pool)
{
- u64 npages = atomic_long_read(&pool->pages_allocated);
- return npages << PAGE_SHIFT;
+ return atomic_long_read(&pool->pages_allocated);
}
-EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(zs_get_total_size_bytes);
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(zs_get_total_pages);
module_init(zs_init);
module_exit(zs_exit);