aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/kexec.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorXunlei Pang <xlpang@redhat.com>2016-05-23 16:24:22 -0700
committerAlex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org>2017-10-25 11:26:32 +0800
commit8702f7853b47db46427cb9f2c17d15739842bcf3 (patch)
tree8bcb350ba7aa35924fee9da7e180ab4bdabc0e44 /kernel/kexec.c
parentd54d9726ca36c3ff047af57e6d4ec3fa54d88cad (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-8702f7853b47db46427cb9f2c17d15739842bcf3.tar.gz
s390/kexec: consolidate crash_map/unmap_reserved_pages() and arch_kexec_protect(unprotect)_crashkres()
Commit 3f625002581b ("kexec: introduce a protection mechanism for the crashkernel reserved memory") is a similar mechanism for protecting the crash kernel reserved memory to previous crash_map/unmap_reserved_pages() implementation, the new one is more generic in name and cleaner in code (besides, some arch may not be allowed to unmap the pgtable). Therefore, this patch consolidates them, and uses the new arch_kexec_protect(unprotect)_crashkres() to replace former crash_map/unmap_reserved_pages() which by now has been only used by S390. The consolidation work needs the crash memory to be mapped initially, this is done in machine_kdump_pm_init() which is after reserve_crashkernel(). Once kdump kernel is loaded, the new arch_kexec_protect_crashkres() implemented for S390 will actually unmap the pgtable like before. Signed-off-by: Xunlei Pang <xlpang@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Minfei Huang <mhuang@redhat.com> Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com> Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> (cherry picked from commit 7a0058ec78602da02b34fa2ae3afc523e90d1ab2) Signed-off-by: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/kexec.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/kexec.c12
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 12 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/kexec.c b/kernel/kexec.c
index 34b770d7c05a..e1acab9c8260 100644
--- a/kernel/kexec.c
+++ b/kernel/kexec.c
@@ -136,9 +136,6 @@ static int do_kexec_load(unsigned long entry, unsigned long nr_segments,
if (ret)
return ret;
- if (flags & KEXEC_ON_CRASH)
- crash_map_reserved_pages();
-
if (flags & KEXEC_PRESERVE_CONTEXT)
image->preserve_context = 1;
@@ -161,12 +158,6 @@ out:
if ((flags & KEXEC_ON_CRASH) && kexec_crash_image)
arch_kexec_protect_crashkres();
- /*
- * Once the reserved memory is mapped, we should unmap this memory
- * before returning
- */
- if (flags & KEXEC_ON_CRASH)
- crash_unmap_reserved_pages();
kimage_free(image);
return ret;
}
@@ -232,9 +223,6 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(kexec_load, unsigned long, entry, unsigned long, nr_segments,
result = do_kexec_load(entry, nr_segments, segments, flags);
- if ((flags & KEXEC_ON_CRASH) && kexec_crash_image)
- arch_kexec_protect_crashkres();
-
mutex_unlock(&kexec_mutex);
return result;