aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/fork.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>2016-05-20 17:00:25 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-05-20 17:58:30 -0700
commit0740aa5f6375681c57488c4ea55d05a0341cfc9c (patch)
treeb6c23b0037f9938467896b885b59234cbd47dd4b /kernel/fork.c
parente64646946ed32902fd597fa6e514b1da84642de3 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-0740aa5f6375681c57488c4ea55d05a0341cfc9c.tar.gz
fork: free thread in copy_process on failure
When using this program (as root): #include <err.h> #include <stdio.h> #include <stdlib.h> #include <unistd.h> #include <sys/io.h> #include <sys/types.h> #include <sys/wait.h> #define ITER 1000 #define FORKERS 15 #define THREADS (6000/FORKERS) // 1850 is proc max static void fork_100_wait() { unsigned a, to_wait = 0; printf("\t%d forking %d\n", THREADS, getpid()); for (a = 0; a < THREADS; a++) { switch (fork()) { case 0: usleep(1000); exit(0); break; case -1: break; default: to_wait++; break; } } printf("\t%d forked from %d, waiting for %d\n", THREADS, getpid(), to_wait); for (a = 0; a < to_wait; a++) wait(NULL); printf("\t%d waited from %d\n", THREADS, getpid()); } static void run_forkers() { pid_t forkers[FORKERS]; unsigned a; for (a = 0; a < FORKERS; a++) { switch ((forkers[a] = fork())) { case 0: fork_100_wait(); exit(0); break; case -1: err(1, "DIE fork of %d'th forker", a); break; default: break; } } for (a = 0; a < FORKERS; a++) waitpid(forkers[a], NULL, 0); } int main() { unsigned a; int ret; ret = ioperm(10, 20, 0); if (ret < 0) err(1, "ioperm"); for (a = 0; a < ITER; a++) run_forkers(); return 0; } kmemleak reports many occurences of this leak: unreferenced object 0xffff8805917c8000 (size 8192): comm "fork-leak", pid 2932, jiffies 4295354292 (age 1871.028s) hex dump (first 32 bytes): ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................ ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ................ backtrace: [<ffffffff814cfbf5>] kmemdup+0x25/0x50 [<ffffffff8103ab43>] copy_thread_tls+0x6c3/0x9a0 [<ffffffff81150174>] copy_process+0x1a84/0x5790 [<ffffffff811dc375>] wake_up_new_task+0x2d5/0x6f0 [<ffffffff8115411d>] _do_fork+0x12d/0x820 ... Due to the leakage of the memory items which should have been freed in arch/x86/kernel/process.c:exit_thread(). Make sure the memory is freed when fork fails later in copy_process. This is done by calling exit_thread with the thread to kill. Signed-off-by: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.linux@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com> Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com> Cc: Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Steven Miao <realmz6@gmail.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/fork.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/fork.c4
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/fork.c b/kernel/fork.c
index 8fbed7194af1..103d78fd8f75 100644
--- a/kernel/fork.c
+++ b/kernel/fork.c
@@ -1490,7 +1490,7 @@ static struct task_struct *copy_process(unsigned long clone_flags,
pid = alloc_pid(p->nsproxy->pid_ns_for_children);
if (IS_ERR(pid)) {
retval = PTR_ERR(pid);
- goto bad_fork_cleanup_io;
+ goto bad_fork_cleanup_thread;
}
}
@@ -1652,6 +1652,8 @@ bad_fork_cancel_cgroup:
bad_fork_free_pid:
if (pid != &init_struct_pid)
free_pid(pid);
+bad_fork_cleanup_thread:
+ exit_thread(p);
bad_fork_cleanup_io:
if (p->io_context)
exit_io_context(p);