aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/delayacct.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorShailabh Nagar <nagar@watson.ibm.com>2006-07-14 00:24:37 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>2006-07-14 21:53:56 -0700
commit0ff922452df86f3e9a2c6f705c4588ec62d096a7 (patch)
treeac84041bfb63f12d0e2db733c46b2cd2438b4882 /kernel/delayacct.c
parentca74e92b4698276b6696f15a801759f50944f387 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-0ff922452df86f3e9a2c6f705c4588ec62d096a7.tar.gz
[PATCH] per-task-delay-accounting: sync block I/O and swapin delay collection
Unlike earlier iterations of the delay accounting patches, now delays are only collected for the actual I/O waits rather than try and cover the delays seen in I/O submission paths. Account separately for block I/O delays incurred as a result of swapin page faults whose frequency can be affected by the task/process' rss limit. Hence swapin delays can act as feedback for rss limit changes independent of I/O priority changes. Signed-off-by: Shailabh Nagar <nagar@watson.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Balbir Singh <balbir@in.ibm.com> Cc: Jes Sorensen <jes@sgi.com> Cc: Peter Chubb <peterc@gelato.unsw.edu.au> Cc: Erich Focht <efocht@ess.nec.de> Cc: Levent Serinol <lserinol@gmail.com> Cc: Jay Lan <jlan@engr.sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/delayacct.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/delayacct.c19
1 files changed, 19 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/delayacct.c b/kernel/delayacct.c
index fbf7f2284952..3546b0800f9f 100644
--- a/kernel/delayacct.c
+++ b/kernel/delayacct.c
@@ -85,3 +85,22 @@ static void delayacct_end(struct timespec *start, struct timespec *end,
spin_unlock(&current->delays->lock);
}
+void __delayacct_blkio_start(void)
+{
+ delayacct_start(&current->delays->blkio_start);
+}
+
+void __delayacct_blkio_end(void)
+{
+ if (current->delays->flags & DELAYACCT_PF_SWAPIN)
+ /* Swapin block I/O */
+ delayacct_end(&current->delays->blkio_start,
+ &current->delays->blkio_end,
+ &current->delays->swapin_delay,
+ &current->delays->swapin_count);
+ else /* Other block I/O */
+ delayacct_end(&current->delays->blkio_start,
+ &current->delays->blkio_end,
+ &current->delays->blkio_delay,
+ &current->delays->blkio_count);
+}