aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2009-06-17 16:28:03 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2009-06-18 13:03:57 -0700
commitb99b87f70c7785ab1e253c6220f4b0b57ce3a7f7 (patch)
treeec5688052334448ec8edd3a1a9cb95cd68501ac7 /init
parente24aca672ff06aff0e6a1045efab86043ea5f735 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-b99b87f70c7785ab1e253c6220f4b0b57ce3a7f7.tar.gz
kernel: constructor support
Call constructors (gcc-generated initcall-like functions) during kernel start and module load. Constructors are e.g. used for gcov data initialization. Disable constructor support for usermode Linux to prevent conflicts with host glibc. Signed-off-by: Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Acked-by: WANG Cong <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com> Cc: Li Wei <W.Li@Sun.COM> Cc: Michael Ellerman <michaele@au1.ibm.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heicars2@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <mschwid2@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/Kconfig5
-rw-r--r--init/main.c12
2 files changed, 17 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/init/Kconfig b/init/Kconfig
index c4b3c6d51a72..1ce05a4cb5f6 100644
--- a/init/Kconfig
+++ b/init/Kconfig
@@ -16,6 +16,11 @@ config DEFCONFIG_LIST
default "$ARCH_DEFCONFIG"
default "arch/$ARCH/defconfig"
+config CONSTRUCTORS
+ bool
+ depends on !UML
+ default y
+
menu "General setup"
config EXPERIMENTAL
diff --git a/init/main.c b/init/main.c
index 0e7aedeaa05f..1a65fdd06318 100644
--- a/init/main.c
+++ b/init/main.c
@@ -720,6 +720,17 @@ asmlinkage void __init start_kernel(void)
rest_init();
}
+/* Call all constructor functions linked into the kernel. */
+static void __init do_ctors(void)
+{
+#ifdef CONFIG_CONSTRUCTORS
+ ctor_fn_t *call = (ctor_fn_t *) __ctors_start;
+
+ for (; call < (ctor_fn_t *) __ctors_end; call++)
+ (*call)();
+#endif
+}
+
int initcall_debug;
core_param(initcall_debug, initcall_debug, bool, 0644);
@@ -800,6 +811,7 @@ static void __init do_basic_setup(void)
usermodehelper_init();
driver_init();
init_irq_proc();
+ do_ctors();
do_initcalls();
}