aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>2012-07-31 16:43:28 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-07-31 18:42:44 -0700
commit9adb62a5df9c0fbef7b4665919329f73a34651ed (patch)
tree8372c9c1202adac889714ea99319346279107f33 /init
parentda92c47d069890106484cb6605df701a54d24499 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-9adb62a5df9c0fbef7b4665919329f73a34651ed.tar.gz
mm/hotplug: correctly setup fallback zonelists when creating new pgdat
When hotadd_new_pgdat() is called to create new pgdat for a new node, a fallback zonelist should be created for the new node. There's code to try to achieve that in hotadd_new_pgdat() as below: /* * The node we allocated has no zone fallback lists. For avoiding * to access not-initialized zonelist, build here. */ mutex_lock(&zonelists_mutex); build_all_zonelists(pgdat, NULL); mutex_unlock(&zonelists_mutex); But it doesn't work as expected. When hotadd_new_pgdat() is called, the new node is still in offline state because node_set_online(nid) hasn't been called yet. And build_all_zonelists() only builds zonelists for online nodes as: for_each_online_node(nid) { pg_data_t *pgdat = NODE_DATA(nid); build_zonelists(pgdat); build_zonelist_cache(pgdat); } Though we hope to create zonelist for the new pgdat, but it doesn't. So add a new parameter "pgdat" the build_all_zonelists() to build pgdat for the new pgdat too. Signed-off-by: Jiang Liu <liuj97@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Xishi Qiu <qiuxishi@huawei.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Keping Chen <chenkeping@huawei.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/main.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/init/main.c b/init/main.c
index 95316a1b4a76..e60679de61c3 100644
--- a/init/main.c
+++ b/init/main.c
@@ -506,7 +506,7 @@ asmlinkage void __init start_kernel(void)
setup_per_cpu_areas();
smp_prepare_boot_cpu(); /* arch-specific boot-cpu hooks */
- build_all_zonelists(NULL);
+ build_all_zonelists(NULL, NULL);
page_alloc_init();
printk(KERN_NOTICE "Kernel command line: %s\n", boot_command_line);