aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIago López Galeiras <iago@endocode.com>2015-06-25 15:00:57 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-06-25 17:00:37 -0700
commit2e13ba54a2682eea24918b87ad3edf70c2cf085b (patch)
treefaa1c51d66968fada40fc971c3c17d1a242c7857 /init/Kconfig
parentc2c0bb44620dece7ec97e28167e32c343da22867 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-2e13ba54a2682eea24918b87ad3edf70c2cf085b.tar.gz
fs, proc: introduce CONFIG_PROC_CHILDREN
Commit 818411616baf ("fs, proc: introduce /proc/<pid>/task/<tid>/children entry") introduced the children entry for checkpoint restore and the file is only available on kernels configured with CONFIG_EXPERT and CONFIG_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE. This is available in most distributions (Fedora, Debian, Ubuntu, CoreOS) because they usually enable CONFIG_EXPERT and CONFIG_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE. But Arch does not enable CONFIG_EXPERT or CONFIG_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE. However, the children proc file is useful outside of checkpoint restore. I would like to use it in rkt. The rkt process exec() another program it does not control, and that other program will fork()+exec() a child process. I would like to find the pid of the child process from an external tool without iterating in /proc over all processes to find which one has a parent pid equal to rkt. This commit introduces CONFIG_PROC_CHILDREN and makes CONFIG_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE select it. This allows enabling /proc/<pid>/task/<tid>/children without needing to enable CONFIG_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE and CONFIG_EXPERT. Alban tested that /proc/<pid>/task/<tid>/children is present when the kernel is configured with CONFIG_PROC_CHILDREN=y but without CONFIG_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE Signed-off-by: Iago López Galeiras <iago@endocode.com> Tested-by: Alban Crequy <alban@endocode.com> Reviewed-by: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@parallels.com> Cc: Serge Hallyn <serge.hallyn@canonical.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Djalal Harouni <djalal@endocode.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--init/Kconfig1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/init/Kconfig b/init/Kconfig
index b999fa381bf9..6a930b7494ef 100644
--- a/init/Kconfig
+++ b/init/Kconfig
@@ -1131,6 +1131,7 @@ endif # CGROUPS
config CHECKPOINT_RESTORE
bool "Checkpoint/restore support" if EXPERT
+ select PROC_CHILDREN
default n
help
Enables additional kernel features in a sake of checkpoint/restore.