aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorBjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com>2008-10-15 22:01:35 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2008-10-16 11:21:31 -0700
commitc80cfb0406c01bb5da91bfe30f5cb1fd96831138 (patch)
tree9f9d382c30457f8553bcd3e4ae5cc03dc2dc120b /include
parent404d0ae289f7a76ff233e8fbfde8b1e7b6e62ae3 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-c80cfb0406c01bb5da91bfe30f5cb1fd96831138.tar.gz
vsprintf: use new vsprintf symbolic function pointer format
Use the '%pF' format to get rid of an "#ifdef DEBUG" and make some printks atomic. This removes the last in-tree uses of print_fn_descriptor_symbol(). I marked print_fn_descriptor_symbol() deprecated and scheduled it for removal next year to give time for out-of-tree modules to be updated. parisc's print_fn_descriptor_symbol() is currently broken there (it needs to dereference the function pointer similar to ia64 and power). This patch shouldn't make anything worse, but it means we need to fix dereference_function_descriptor() instead of print_fn_descriptor_symbol() to get meaningful initcall_debug output. Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com> Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl> Cc: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org> Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/kallsyms.h8
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/kallsyms.h b/include/linux/kallsyms.h
index b96144887444..f3fe34391d8e 100644
--- a/include/linux/kallsyms.h
+++ b/include/linux/kallsyms.h
@@ -93,12 +93,10 @@ static inline void print_symbol(const char *fmt, unsigned long addr)
}
/*
- * Pretty-print a function pointer.
- *
- * ia64 and ppc64 function pointers are really function descriptors,
- * which contain a pointer the real address.
+ * Pretty-print a function pointer. This function is deprecated.
+ * Please use the "%pF" vsprintf format instead.
*/
-static inline void print_fn_descriptor_symbol(const char *fmt, void *addr)
+static inline void __deprecated print_fn_descriptor_symbol(const char *fmt, void *addr)
{
#if defined(CONFIG_IA64) || defined(CONFIG_PPC64)
addr = *(void **)addr;