aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include/linux/fs.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>2013-07-03 15:02:05 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-07-03 16:07:29 -0700
commitb45972265f823ed01eae0867a176320071665787 (patch)
treeded8dcb801e71fe10e38c715a91571c745c563b5 /include/linux/fs.h
parentd04e8acd03e5c3421ef18e3da7bc88d56179ca42 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-b45972265f823ed01eae0867a176320071665787.tar.gz
mm: vmscan: take page buffers dirty and locked state into account
Page reclaim keeps track of dirty and under writeback pages and uses it to determine if wait_iff_congested() should stall or if kswapd should begin writing back pages. This fails to account for buffer pages that can be under writeback but not PageWriteback which is the case for filesystems like ext3 ordered mode. Furthermore, PageDirty buffer pages can have all the buffers clean and writepage does no IO so it should not be accounted as congested. This patch adds an address_space operation that filesystems may optionally use to check if a page is really dirty or really under writeback. An implementation is provided for for buffer_heads is added and used for block operations and ext3 in ordered mode. By default the page flags are obeyed. Credit goes to Jan Kara for identifying that the page flags alone are not sufficient for ext3 and sanity checking a number of ideas on how the problem could be addressed. Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz> Cc: Valdis Kletnieks <Valdis.Kletnieks@vt.edu> Cc: Zlatko Calusic <zcalusic@bitsync.net> Cc: dormando <dormando@rydia.net> Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/linux/fs.h')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/fs.h1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/fs.h b/include/linux/fs.h
index 2b82c8041490..99be011e00de 100644
--- a/include/linux/fs.h
+++ b/include/linux/fs.h
@@ -380,6 +380,7 @@ struct address_space_operations {
int (*launder_page) (struct page *);
int (*is_partially_uptodate) (struct page *, read_descriptor_t *,
unsigned long);
+ void (*is_dirty_writeback) (struct page *, bool *, bool *);
int (*error_remove_page)(struct address_space *, struct page *);
/* swapfile support */