aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include/linux/fs.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@openvz.org>2013-08-28 10:17:53 +1000
committerAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>2013-09-10 18:56:29 -0400
commit3942c07ccf98e66b8893f396dca98f5b076f905f (patch)
tree063ec7aa542d9fa812482c02e2436205fe6a9e8e /include/linux/fs.h
parentda5338c7498556b760871661ffecb053cc6f708f (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-3942c07ccf98e66b8893f396dca98f5b076f905f.tar.gz
fs: bump inode and dentry counters to long
This series reworks our current object cache shrinking infrastructure in two main ways: * Noticing that a lot of users copy and paste their own version of LRU lists for objects, we put some effort in providing a generic version. It is modeled after the filesystem users: dentries, inodes, and xfs (for various tasks), but we expect that other users could benefit in the near future with little or no modification. Let us know if you have any issues. * The underlying list_lru being proposed automatically and transparently keeps the elements in per-node lists, and is able to manipulate the node lists individually. Given this infrastructure, we are able to modify the up-to-now hammer called shrink_slab to proceed with node-reclaim instead of always searching memory from all over like it has been doing. Per-node lru lists are also expected to lead to less contention in the lru locks on multi-node scans, since we are now no longer fighting for a global lock. The locks usually disappear from the profilers with this change. Although we have no official benchmarks for this version - be our guest to independently evaluate this - earlier versions of this series were performance tested (details at http://permalink.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel.mm/100537) yielding no visible performance regressions while yielding a better qualitative behavior in NUMA machines. With this infrastructure in place, we can use the list_lru entry point to provide memcg isolation and per-memcg targeted reclaim. Historically, those two pieces of work have been posted together. This version presents only the infrastructure work, deferring the memcg work for a later time, so we can focus on getting this part tested. You can see more about the history of such work at http://lwn.net/Articles/552769/ Dave Chinner (18): dcache: convert dentry_stat.nr_unused to per-cpu counters dentry: move to per-sb LRU locks dcache: remove dentries from LRU before putting on dispose list mm: new shrinker API shrinker: convert superblock shrinkers to new API list: add a new LRU list type inode: convert inode lru list to generic lru list code. dcache: convert to use new lru list infrastructure list_lru: per-node list infrastructure shrinker: add node awareness fs: convert inode and dentry shrinking to be node aware xfs: convert buftarg LRU to generic code xfs: rework buffer dispose list tracking xfs: convert dquot cache lru to list_lru fs: convert fs shrinkers to new scan/count API drivers: convert shrinkers to new count/scan API shrinker: convert remaining shrinkers to count/scan API shrinker: Kill old ->shrink API. Glauber Costa (7): fs: bump inode and dentry counters to long super: fix calculation of shrinkable objects for small numbers list_lru: per-node API vmscan: per-node deferred work i915: bail out earlier when shrinker cannot acquire mutex hugepage: convert huge zero page shrinker to new shrinker API list_lru: dynamically adjust node arrays This patch: There are situations in very large machines in which we can have a large quantity of dirty inodes, unused dentries, etc. This is particularly true when umounting a filesystem, where eventually since every live object will eventually be discarded. Dave Chinner reported a problem with this while experimenting with the shrinker revamp patchset. So we believe it is time for a change. This patch just moves int to longs. Machines where it matters should have a big long anyway. Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@openvz.org> Cc: Dave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com> Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Artem Bityutskiy <artem.bityutskiy@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arve Hjønnevåg <arve@android.com> Cc: Carlos Maiolino <cmaiolino@redhat.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> Cc: Dave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: J. Bruce Fields <bfields@redhat.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Kent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com> Cc: Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@vmware.com> Cc: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/linux/fs.h')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/fs.h4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/fs.h b/include/linux/fs.h
index 49e71b0f0e9f..3b3edac75df2 100644
--- a/include/linux/fs.h
+++ b/include/linux/fs.h
@@ -1271,12 +1271,12 @@ struct super_block {
struct list_head s_mounts; /* list of mounts; _not_ for fs use */
/* s_dentry_lru, s_nr_dentry_unused protected by dcache.c lru locks */
struct list_head s_dentry_lru; /* unused dentry lru */
- int s_nr_dentry_unused; /* # of dentry on lru */
+ long s_nr_dentry_unused; /* # of dentry on lru */
/* s_inode_lru_lock protects s_inode_lru and s_nr_inodes_unused */
spinlock_t s_inode_lru_lock ____cacheline_aligned_in_smp;
struct list_head s_inode_lru; /* unused inode lru */
- int s_nr_inodes_unused; /* # of inodes on lru */
+ long s_nr_inodes_unused; /* # of inodes on lru */
struct block_device *s_bdev;
struct backing_dev_info *s_bdi;