aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/fs/aio.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com>2013-05-07 16:18:37 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-05-07 18:38:28 -0700
commit1d98ebfccc15aeea87a7c48d50d7343e1ce8daae (patch)
treefd38e32b9629b7988569d4b28c50c462bb6f13c3 /fs/aio.c
parentcaf4167aa73bef20f5ce994b776ecb2e44226e5e (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-1d98ebfccc15aeea87a7c48d50d7343e1ce8daae.tar.gz
aio: do fget() after aio_get_req()
aio_get_req() will fail if we have the maximum number of requests outstanding, which depending on the application may not be uncommon. So avoid doing an unnecessary fget(). Signed-off-by: Kent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com> Cc: Zach Brown <zab@redhat.com> Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com> Cc: Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com> Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com> Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com> Acked-by: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Benjamin LaHaise <bcrl@kvack.org> Reviewed-by: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'fs/aio.c')
-rw-r--r--fs/aio.c22
1 files changed, 9 insertions, 13 deletions
diff --git a/fs/aio.c b/fs/aio.c
index 1574cb2a9eac..ffa8b8d2cb8e 100644
--- a/fs/aio.c
+++ b/fs/aio.c
@@ -587,6 +587,8 @@ static inline void really_put_req(struct kioctx *ctx, struct kiocb *req)
{
assert_spin_locked(&ctx->ctx_lock);
+ if (req->ki_filp)
+ fput(req->ki_filp);
if (req->ki_eventfd != NULL)
eventfd_ctx_put(req->ki_eventfd);
if (req->ki_dtor)
@@ -605,9 +607,6 @@ static inline void really_put_req(struct kioctx *ctx, struct kiocb *req)
*/
static void __aio_put_req(struct kioctx *ctx, struct kiocb *req)
{
- pr_debug("(%p): f_count=%ld\n",
- req, atomic_long_read(&req->ki_filp->f_count));
-
assert_spin_locked(&ctx->ctx_lock);
req->ki_users--;
@@ -618,8 +617,6 @@ static void __aio_put_req(struct kioctx *ctx, struct kiocb *req)
req->ki_cancel = NULL;
req->ki_retry = NULL;
- fput(req->ki_filp);
- req->ki_filp = NULL;
really_put_req(ctx, req);
}
@@ -1270,7 +1267,6 @@ static int io_submit_one(struct kioctx *ctx, struct iocb __user *user_iocb,
bool compat)
{
struct kiocb *req;
- struct file *file;
ssize_t ret;
/* enforce forwards compatibility on users */
@@ -1289,16 +1285,16 @@ static int io_submit_one(struct kioctx *ctx, struct iocb __user *user_iocb,
return -EINVAL;
}
- file = fget(iocb->aio_fildes);
- if (unlikely(!file))
- return -EBADF;
-
req = aio_get_req(ctx, batch); /* returns with 2 references to req */
- if (unlikely(!req)) {
- fput(file);
+ if (unlikely(!req))
return -EAGAIN;
+
+ req->ki_filp = fget(iocb->aio_fildes);
+ if (unlikely(!req->ki_filp)) {
+ ret = -EBADF;
+ goto out_put_req;
}
- req->ki_filp = file;
+
if (iocb->aio_flags & IOCB_FLAG_RESFD) {
/*
* If the IOCB_FLAG_RESFD flag of aio_flags is set, get an