aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/cpuidle/cpuidle.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDeepthi Dharwar <deepthi@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2011-10-28 16:20:24 +0530
committerLen Brown <len.brown@intel.com>2011-11-06 21:13:43 -0500
commitb25edc42bfb9602f0503474b2c94701d5536ce60 (patch)
tree5d3b8634606daa99fe5dc86ade108400ecf3a5fd /drivers/cpuidle/cpuidle.c
parente978aa7d7d57d04eb5f88a7507c4fb98577def77 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-b25edc42bfb9602f0503474b2c94701d5536ce60.tar.gz
cpuidle: Remove CPUIDLE_FLAG_IGNORE and dev->prepare()
The cpuidle_device->prepare() mechanism causes updates to the cpuidle_state[].flags, setting and clearing CPUIDLE_FLAG_IGNORE to tell the governor not to chose a state on a per-cpu basis at run-time. State demotion is now handled by the driver and it returns the actual state entered. Hence, this mechanism is not required. Also this removes per-cpu flags from cpuidle_state enabling it to be made global. Reference: https://lkml.org/lkml/2011/3/25/52 Signed-off-by: Deepthi Dharwar <deepthi@linux.vnet.ibm> Signed-off-by: Trinabh Gupta <g.trinabh@gmail.com> Tested-by: Jean Pihet <j-pihet@ti.com> Acked-by: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Reviewed-by: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com> Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/cpuidle/cpuidle.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/cpuidle/cpuidle.c10
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 10 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/cpuidle/cpuidle.c b/drivers/cpuidle/cpuidle.c
index 88bd12104396..f66bcf9bfe93 100644
--- a/drivers/cpuidle/cpuidle.c
+++ b/drivers/cpuidle/cpuidle.c
@@ -83,16 +83,6 @@ int cpuidle_idle_call(void)
hrtimer_peek_ahead_timers();
#endif
- /*
- * Call the device's prepare function before calling the
- * governor's select function. ->prepare gives the device's
- * cpuidle driver a chance to update any dynamic information
- * of its cpuidle states for the current idle period, e.g.
- * state availability, latencies, residencies, etc.
- */
- if (dev->prepare)
- dev->prepare(dev);
-
/* ask the governor for the next state */
next_state = cpuidle_curr_governor->select(dev);
if (need_resched()) {