aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/block
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>2013-11-23 17:19:00 -0800
committerKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>2013-11-23 22:33:49 -0800
commit7988613b0e5b2638caf6cd493cc78e9595eba19c (patch)
treecc9fc4e235278035313ee32940740f61269f8fb3 /block
parenta4ad39b1d10584dfcfcfb0d510faab2c7f034399 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-7988613b0e5b2638caf6cd493cc78e9595eba19c.tar.gz
block: Convert bio_for_each_segment() to bvec_iter
More prep work for immutable biovecs - with immutable bvecs drivers won't be able to use the biovec directly, they'll need to use helpers that take into account bio->bi_iter.bi_bvec_done. This updates callers for the new usage without changing the implementation yet. Signed-off-by: Kent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: "Ed L. Cashin" <ecashin@coraid.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk> Cc: Lars Ellenberg <drbd-dev@lists.linbit.com> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: Paul Clements <Paul.Clements@steeleye.com> Cc: Jim Paris <jim@jtan.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Yehuda Sadeh <yehuda@inktank.com> Cc: Sage Weil <sage@inktank.com> Cc: Alex Elder <elder@inktank.com> Cc: ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org Cc: Joshua Morris <josh.h.morris@us.ibm.com> Cc: Philip Kelleher <pjk1939@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org> Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: linux390@de.ibm.com Cc: Nagalakshmi Nandigama <Nagalakshmi.Nandigama@lsi.com> Cc: Sreekanth Reddy <Sreekanth.Reddy@lsi.com> Cc: support@lsi.com Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com> Cc: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Guo Chao <yan@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com> Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com> Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com> Cc: Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com> Cc: Quoc-Son Anh <quoc-sonx.anh@intel.com> Cc: Sebastian Ott <sebott@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com> Cc: Seth Jennings <sjenning@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com> Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com> Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com> Cc: "Darrick J. Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org Cc: drbd-user@lists.linbit.com Cc: nbd-general@lists.sourceforge.net Cc: cbe-oss-dev@lists.ozlabs.org Cc: xen-devel@lists.xensource.com Cc: virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org Cc: linux-raid@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org Cc: DL-MPTFusionLinux@lsi.com Cc: linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org Cc: devel@driverdev.osuosl.org Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org Cc: cluster-devel@redhat.com Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org Acked-by: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'block')
-rw-r--r--block/blk-core.c4
-rw-r--r--block/blk-merge.c49
2 files changed, 25 insertions, 28 deletions
diff --git a/block/blk-core.c b/block/blk-core.c
index 5c2ab2c74066..5da8e900d3b1 100644
--- a/block/blk-core.c
+++ b/block/blk-core.c
@@ -2746,10 +2746,10 @@ void blk_rq_bio_prep(struct request_queue *q, struct request *rq,
void rq_flush_dcache_pages(struct request *rq)
{
struct req_iterator iter;
- struct bio_vec *bvec;
+ struct bio_vec bvec;
rq_for_each_segment(bvec, rq, iter)
- flush_dcache_page(bvec->bv_page);
+ flush_dcache_page(bvec.bv_page);
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(rq_flush_dcache_pages);
#endif
diff --git a/block/blk-merge.c b/block/blk-merge.c
index 03bc083c28cf..a1ead9049ed6 100644
--- a/block/blk-merge.c
+++ b/block/blk-merge.c
@@ -12,10 +12,11 @@
static unsigned int __blk_recalc_rq_segments(struct request_queue *q,
struct bio *bio)
{
- struct bio_vec *bv, *bvprv = NULL;
- int cluster, i, high, highprv = 1;
+ struct bio_vec bv, bvprv = { NULL };
+ int cluster, high, highprv = 1;
unsigned int seg_size, nr_phys_segs;
struct bio *fbio, *bbio;
+ struct bvec_iter iter;
if (!bio)
return 0;
@@ -25,25 +26,23 @@ static unsigned int __blk_recalc_rq_segments(struct request_queue *q,
seg_size = 0;
nr_phys_segs = 0;
for_each_bio(bio) {
- bio_for_each_segment(bv, bio, i) {
+ bio_for_each_segment(bv, bio, iter) {
/*
* the trick here is making sure that a high page is
* never considered part of another segment, since that
* might change with the bounce page.
*/
- high = page_to_pfn(bv->bv_page) > queue_bounce_pfn(q);
- if (high || highprv)
- goto new_segment;
- if (cluster) {
- if (seg_size + bv->bv_len
+ high = page_to_pfn(bv.bv_page) > queue_bounce_pfn(q);
+ if (!high && !highprv && cluster) {
+ if (seg_size + bv.bv_len
> queue_max_segment_size(q))
goto new_segment;
- if (!BIOVEC_PHYS_MERGEABLE(bvprv, bv))
+ if (!BIOVEC_PHYS_MERGEABLE(&bvprv, &bv))
goto new_segment;
- if (!BIOVEC_SEG_BOUNDARY(q, bvprv, bv))
+ if (!BIOVEC_SEG_BOUNDARY(q, &bvprv, &bv))
goto new_segment;
- seg_size += bv->bv_len;
+ seg_size += bv.bv_len;
bvprv = bv;
continue;
}
@@ -54,7 +53,7 @@ new_segment:
nr_phys_segs++;
bvprv = bv;
- seg_size = bv->bv_len;
+ seg_size = bv.bv_len;
highprv = high;
}
bbio = bio;
@@ -110,21 +109,21 @@ static int blk_phys_contig_segment(struct request_queue *q, struct bio *bio,
return 0;
}
-static void
+static inline void
__blk_segment_map_sg(struct request_queue *q, struct bio_vec *bvec,
- struct scatterlist *sglist, struct bio_vec **bvprv,
+ struct scatterlist *sglist, struct bio_vec *bvprv,
struct scatterlist **sg, int *nsegs, int *cluster)
{
int nbytes = bvec->bv_len;
- if (*bvprv && *cluster) {
+ if (*sg && *cluster) {
if ((*sg)->length + nbytes > queue_max_segment_size(q))
goto new_segment;
- if (!BIOVEC_PHYS_MERGEABLE(*bvprv, bvec))
+ if (!BIOVEC_PHYS_MERGEABLE(bvprv, bvec))
goto new_segment;
- if (!BIOVEC_SEG_BOUNDARY(q, *bvprv, bvec))
+ if (!BIOVEC_SEG_BOUNDARY(q, bvprv, bvec))
goto new_segment;
(*sg)->length += nbytes;
@@ -150,7 +149,7 @@ new_segment:
sg_set_page(*sg, bvec->bv_page, nbytes, bvec->bv_offset);
(*nsegs)++;
}
- *bvprv = bvec;
+ *bvprv = *bvec;
}
/*
@@ -160,7 +159,7 @@ new_segment:
int blk_rq_map_sg(struct request_queue *q, struct request *rq,
struct scatterlist *sglist)
{
- struct bio_vec *bvec, *bvprv;
+ struct bio_vec bvec, bvprv;
struct req_iterator iter;
struct scatterlist *sg;
int nsegs, cluster;
@@ -171,10 +170,9 @@ int blk_rq_map_sg(struct request_queue *q, struct request *rq,
/*
* for each bio in rq
*/
- bvprv = NULL;
sg = NULL;
rq_for_each_segment(bvec, rq, iter) {
- __blk_segment_map_sg(q, bvec, sglist, &bvprv, &sg,
+ __blk_segment_map_sg(q, &bvec, sglist, &bvprv, &sg,
&nsegs, &cluster);
} /* segments in rq */
@@ -223,18 +221,17 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(blk_rq_map_sg);
int blk_bio_map_sg(struct request_queue *q, struct bio *bio,
struct scatterlist *sglist)
{
- struct bio_vec *bvec, *bvprv;
+ struct bio_vec bvec, bvprv;
struct scatterlist *sg;
int nsegs, cluster;
- unsigned long i;
+ struct bvec_iter iter;
nsegs = 0;
cluster = blk_queue_cluster(q);
- bvprv = NULL;
sg = NULL;
- bio_for_each_segment(bvec, bio, i) {
- __blk_segment_map_sg(q, bvec, sglist, &bvprv, &sg,
+ bio_for_each_segment(bvec, bio, iter) {
+ __blk_segment_map_sg(q, &bvec, sglist, &bvprv, &sg,
&nsegs, &cluster);
} /* segments in bio */