aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/block/blk-settings.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKent Overstreet <kent.overstreet@gmail.com>2015-04-27 23:48:34 -0700
committerJens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>2015-08-13 12:31:57 -0600
commit8ae126660fddbeebb9251a174e6fa45b6ad8f932 (patch)
treefe471f94c8686b59f7a07b5b4f59ee4f51254902 /block/blk-settings.c
parent7140aafce2fc14c5af02fdb7859b6bea0108be3d (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-8ae126660fddbeebb9251a174e6fa45b6ad8f932.tar.gz
block: kill merge_bvec_fn() completely
As generic_make_request() is now able to handle arbitrarily sized bios, it's no longer necessary for each individual block driver to define its own ->merge_bvec_fn() callback. Remove every invocation completely. Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Lars Ellenberg <drbd-dev@lists.linbit.com> Cc: drbd-user@lists.linbit.com Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: Yehuda Sadeh <yehuda@inktank.com> Cc: Sage Weil <sage@inktank.com> Cc: Alex Elder <elder@kernel.org> Cc: ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com> Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com> Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de> Cc: linux-raid@vger.kernel.org Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com> Acked-by: NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de> (for the 'md' bits) Acked-by: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Kent Overstreet <kent.overstreet@gmail.com> [dpark: also remove ->merge_bvec_fn() in dm-thin as well as dm-era-target, and resolve merge conflicts] Signed-off-by: Dongsu Park <dpark@posteo.net> Signed-off-by: Ming Lin <ming.l@ssi.samsung.com> Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'block/blk-settings.c')
-rw-r--r--block/blk-settings.c22
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 22 deletions
diff --git a/block/blk-settings.c b/block/blk-settings.c
index b38d8d723276..9df73991b231 100644
--- a/block/blk-settings.c
+++ b/block/blk-settings.c
@@ -53,28 +53,6 @@ void blk_queue_unprep_rq(struct request_queue *q, unprep_rq_fn *ufn)
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(blk_queue_unprep_rq);
-/**
- * blk_queue_merge_bvec - set a merge_bvec function for queue
- * @q: queue
- * @mbfn: merge_bvec_fn
- *
- * Usually queues have static limitations on the max sectors or segments that
- * we can put in a request. Stacking drivers may have some settings that
- * are dynamic, and thus we have to query the queue whether it is ok to
- * add a new bio_vec to a bio at a given offset or not. If the block device
- * has such limitations, it needs to register a merge_bvec_fn to control
- * the size of bio's sent to it. Note that a block device *must* allow a
- * single page to be added to an empty bio. The block device driver may want
- * to use the bio_split() function to deal with these bio's. By default
- * no merge_bvec_fn is defined for a queue, and only the fixed limits are
- * honored.
- */
-void blk_queue_merge_bvec(struct request_queue *q, merge_bvec_fn *mbfn)
-{
- q->merge_bvec_fn = mbfn;
-}
-EXPORT_SYMBOL(blk_queue_merge_bvec);
-
void blk_queue_softirq_done(struct request_queue *q, softirq_done_fn *fn)
{
q->softirq_done_fn = fn;