aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/block/blk-merge.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKent Overstreet <kent.overstreet@gmail.com>2015-04-27 23:48:34 -0700
committerJens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>2015-08-13 12:31:57 -0600
commit8ae126660fddbeebb9251a174e6fa45b6ad8f932 (patch)
treefe471f94c8686b59f7a07b5b4f59ee4f51254902 /block/blk-merge.c
parent7140aafce2fc14c5af02fdb7859b6bea0108be3d (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-8ae126660fddbeebb9251a174e6fa45b6ad8f932.tar.gz
block: kill merge_bvec_fn() completely
As generic_make_request() is now able to handle arbitrarily sized bios, it's no longer necessary for each individual block driver to define its own ->merge_bvec_fn() callback. Remove every invocation completely. Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Lars Ellenberg <drbd-dev@lists.linbit.com> Cc: drbd-user@lists.linbit.com Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: Yehuda Sadeh <yehuda@inktank.com> Cc: Sage Weil <sage@inktank.com> Cc: Alex Elder <elder@kernel.org> Cc: ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com> Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com> Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de> Cc: linux-raid@vger.kernel.org Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com> Acked-by: NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de> (for the 'md' bits) Acked-by: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Kent Overstreet <kent.overstreet@gmail.com> [dpark: also remove ->merge_bvec_fn() in dm-thin as well as dm-era-target, and resolve merge conflicts] Signed-off-by: Dongsu Park <dpark@posteo.net> Signed-off-by: Ming Lin <ming.l@ssi.samsung.com> Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'block/blk-merge.c')
-rw-r--r--block/blk-merge.c17
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 14 deletions
diff --git a/block/blk-merge.c b/block/blk-merge.c
index d9c3a75e4a60..0027def35f5a 100644
--- a/block/blk-merge.c
+++ b/block/blk-merge.c
@@ -69,24 +69,13 @@ static struct bio *blk_bio_segment_split(struct request_queue *q,
struct bio *split;
struct bio_vec bv, bvprv;
struct bvec_iter iter;
- unsigned seg_size = 0, nsegs = 0;
+ unsigned seg_size = 0, nsegs = 0, sectors = 0;
int prev = 0;
- struct bvec_merge_data bvm = {
- .bi_bdev = bio->bi_bdev,
- .bi_sector = bio->bi_iter.bi_sector,
- .bi_size = 0,
- .bi_rw = bio->bi_rw,
- };
-
bio_for_each_segment(bv, bio, iter) {
- if (q->merge_bvec_fn &&
- q->merge_bvec_fn(q, &bvm, &bv) < (int) bv.bv_len)
- goto split;
-
- bvm.bi_size += bv.bv_len;
+ sectors += bv.bv_len >> 9;
- if (bvm.bi_size >> 9 > queue_max_sectors(q))
+ if (sectors > queue_max_sectors(q))
goto split;
/*