aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86_64
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKeshavamurthy, Anil S <anil.s.keshavamurthy@intel.com>2007-10-21 16:41:55 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>2007-10-22 08:13:19 -0700
commite820482cd2621dba60e403af1c54502daa54b220 (patch)
tree3498401c7154e14008ab80b2f0cbca539ce7ffbc /arch/x86_64
parent3460a6d9cef9ac2aa997da7eff7ff1c8291b361c (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-e820482cd2621dba60e403af1c54502daa54b220.tar.gz
Intel IOMMU: Iommu Gfx workaround
When we fix all the opensource gfx drivers to use the DMA api's, at that time we can yank this config options out. [jengelh@computergmbh.de: Kconfig fixes] Signed-off-by: Anil S Keshavamurthy <anil.s.keshavamurthy@intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Muli Ben-Yehuda <muli@il.ibm.com> Cc: "Siddha, Suresh B" <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@infradead.org> Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com> Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com> Signed-off-by: Jan Engelhardt <jengelh@gmx.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86_64')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86_64/Kconfig19
1 files changed, 15 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86_64/Kconfig b/arch/x86_64/Kconfig
index 5c9aaed589a5..5cf941774347 100644
--- a/arch/x86_64/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86_64/Kconfig
@@ -755,11 +755,22 @@ config DMAR
depends on PCI_MSI && ACPI && EXPERIMENTAL
default y
help
- DMA remapping(DMAR) devices support enables independent address
- translations for Direct Memory Access(DMA) from Devices.
+ DMA remapping (DMAR) devices support enables independent address
+ translations for Direct Memory Access (DMA) from devices.
These DMA remapping devices are reported via ACPI tables
- and includes pci device scope covered by these DMA
- remapping device.
+ and include PCI device scope covered by these DMA
+ remapping devices.
+
+config DMAR_GFX_WA
+ bool "Support for Graphics workaround"
+ depends on DMAR
+ default y
+ help
+ Current Graphics drivers tend to use physical address
+ for DMA and avoid using DMA APIs. Setting this config
+ option permits the IOMMU driver to set a unity map for
+ all the OS-visible memory. Hence the driver can continue
+ to use physical addresses for DMA.
source "drivers/pci/pcie/Kconfig"