aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86_64/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorYasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com>2006-04-10 22:53:53 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>2006-04-11 06:18:39 -0700
commitc80d79d746cc48bd94b0ce4f6d4f3c90cd403aaf (patch)
tree5aa8d1590d95f8fd820ad797fe03a063b592e9bf /arch/x86_64/Kconfig
parent653edba1a8b2ed018bdfb078131324dfbfe1dd6a (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-c80d79d746cc48bd94b0ce4f6d4f3c90cd403aaf.tar.gz
[PATCH] Configurable NODES_SHIFT
Current implementations define NODES_SHIFT in include/asm-xxx/numnodes.h for each arch. Its definition is sometimes configurable. Indeed, ia64 defines 5 NODES_SHIFT values in the current git tree. But it looks a bit messy. SGI-SN2(ia64) system requires 1024 nodes, and the number of nodes already has been changeable by config. Suitable node's number may be changed in the future even if it is other architecture. So, I wrote configurable node's number. This patch set defines just default value for each arch which needs multi nodes except ia64. But, it is easy to change to configurable if necessary. On ia64 the number of nodes can be already configured in generic ia64 and SN2 config. But, NODES_SHIFT is defined for DIG64 and HP'S machine too. So, I changed it so that all platforms can be configured via CONFIG_NODES_SHIFT. It would be simpler. See also: http://marc.theaimsgroup.com/?l=linux-kernel&m=114358010523896&w=2 Signed-off-by: Yasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86_64/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86_64/Kconfig5
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86_64/Kconfig b/arch/x86_64/Kconfig
index 7df2fe1844be..408d44a59756 100644
--- a/arch/x86_64/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86_64/Kconfig
@@ -288,6 +288,11 @@ config K8_NUMA
Northbridge of Opteron. It is recommended to use X86_64_ACPI_NUMA
instead, which also takes priority if both are compiled in.
+config NODES_SHIFT
+ int
+ default "6"
+ depends on NEED_MULTIPLE_NODES
+
# Dummy CONFIG option to select ACPI_NUMA from drivers/acpi/Kconfig.
config X86_64_ACPI_NUMA