aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86/kernel/microcode_amd.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndreas Herrmann <herrmann.der.user@googlemail.com>2009-11-17 08:06:38 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>2009-11-17 10:10:40 +0100
commit8cc2361bd00e87aab2827a3996a71fe9b2c9f9c4 (patch)
treeba7be300bdea4a9eb041805f88727889e7247283 /arch/x86/kernel/microcode_amd.c
parent9f15226e75583547aaf542c6be4bdac1060dd425 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-8cc2361bd00e87aab2827a3996a71fe9b2c9f9c4.tar.gz
x86: ucode-amd: Move family check to microcde_amd.c's init function
... to avoid useless trial to load firmware on systems with unsupported AMD CPUs. Signed-off-by: Andreas Herrmann <andreas.herrmann3@amd.com> Cc: Dmitry Adamushko <dmitry.adamushko@gmail.com> Cc: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com> Cc: Tigran Aivazian <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk> Cc: Borislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com> Cc: Andreas Mohr <andi@lisas.de> Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com> LKML-Reference: <20091117070638.GA27691@alberich.amd.com> [ v2: changed BUG_ON() to WARN_ON() ] Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/kernel/microcode_amd.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kernel/microcode_amd.c21
1 files changed, 15 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/microcode_amd.c b/arch/x86/kernel/microcode_amd.c
index 26e33bd8485b..63123d902103 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/microcode_amd.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/microcode_amd.c
@@ -34,6 +34,7 @@ MODULE_LICENSE("GPL v2");
#define UCODE_UCODE_TYPE 0x00000001
const struct firmware *firmware;
+static int supported_cpu;
struct equiv_cpu_entry {
u32 installed_cpu;
@@ -73,15 +74,12 @@ static struct equiv_cpu_entry *equiv_cpu_table;
static int collect_cpu_info_amd(int cpu, struct cpu_signature *csig)
{
- struct cpuinfo_x86 *c = &cpu_data(cpu);
u32 dummy;
- memset(csig, 0, sizeof(*csig));
- if (c->x86_vendor != X86_VENDOR_AMD || c->x86 < 0x10) {
- pr_warning("microcode: CPU%d: AMD CPU family 0x%x not "
- "supported\n", cpu, c->x86);
+ if (!supported_cpu)
return -1;
- }
+
+ memset(csig, 0, sizeof(*csig));
rdmsr(MSR_AMD64_PATCH_LEVEL, csig->rev, dummy);
pr_info("microcode: CPU%d: patch_level=0x%x\n", cpu, csig->rev);
return 0;
@@ -331,6 +329,17 @@ static void microcode_fini_cpu_amd(int cpu)
void init_microcode_amd(struct device *device)
{
const char *fw_name = "amd-ucode/microcode_amd.bin";
+ struct cpuinfo_x86 *c = &boot_cpu_data;
+
+ WARN_ON(c->x86_vendor != X86_VENDOR_AMD);
+
+ if (c->x86 < 0x10) {
+ pr_warning("microcode: AMD CPU family 0x%x not supported\n",
+ c->x86);
+ return;
+ }
+ supported_cpu = 1;
+
if (request_firmware(&firmware, fw_name, device))
pr_err("microcode: failed to load file %s\n", fw_name);
}