aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/sparc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAtsushi Nemoto <anemo@mba.ocn.ne.jp>2006-09-30 23:28:31 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>2006-10-01 00:39:27 -0700
commit8ef386092d7c2891bd7acefb2a87f878f7e9a0d6 (patch)
treeb149f0c63f9b9bb3f43e82097f1ae5972662288f /arch/sparc
parent70bc42f90a3f4721c89dbe865e6c95da8565b41c (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-8ef386092d7c2891bd7acefb2a87f878f7e9a0d6.tar.gz
[PATCH] kill wall_jiffies
With 2.6.18-rc4-mm2, now wall_jiffies will always be the same as jiffies. So we can kill wall_jiffies completely. This is just a cleanup and logically should not change any real behavior except for one thing: RTC updating code in (old) ppc and xtensa use a condition "jiffies - wall_jiffies == 1". This condition is never met so I suppose it is just a bug. I just remove that condition only instead of kill the whole "if" block. [heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com: s390 build fix and cleanup] Signed-off-by: Atsushi Nemoto <anemo@mba.ocn.ne.jp> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata.hirokazu@renesas.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp> Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk> Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it> Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Signed-off-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/sparc')
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/kernel/pcic.c16
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/kernel/time.c18
2 files changed, 5 insertions, 29 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sparc/kernel/pcic.c b/arch/sparc/kernel/pcic.c
index e19b1bad9bc5..edb6cc665f56 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/kernel/pcic.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/kernel/pcic.c
@@ -765,8 +765,6 @@ static __inline__ unsigned long do_gettimeoffset(void)
return count;
}
-extern unsigned long wall_jiffies;
-
static void pci_do_gettimeofday(struct timeval *tv)
{
unsigned long flags;
@@ -775,26 +773,17 @@ static void pci_do_gettimeofday(struct timeval *tv)
unsigned long max_ntp_tick = tick_usec - tickadj;
do {
- unsigned long lost;
-
seq = read_seqbegin_irqsave(&xtime_lock, flags);
usec = do_gettimeoffset();
- lost = jiffies - wall_jiffies;
/*
* If time_adjust is negative then NTP is slowing the clock
* so make sure not to go into next possible interval.
* Better to lose some accuracy than have time go backwards..
*/
- if (unlikely(time_adjust < 0)) {
+ if (unlikely(time_adjust < 0))
usec = min(usec, max_ntp_tick);
- if (lost)
- usec += lost * max_ntp_tick;
- }
- else if (unlikely(lost))
- usec += lost * tick_usec;
-
sec = xtime.tv_sec;
usec += (xtime.tv_nsec / 1000);
} while (read_seqretry_irqrestore(&xtime_lock, seq, flags));
@@ -819,8 +808,7 @@ static int pci_do_settimeofday(struct timespec *tv)
* wall time. Discover what correction gettimeofday() would have
* made, and then undo it!
*/
- tv->tv_nsec -= 1000 * (do_gettimeoffset() +
- (jiffies - wall_jiffies) * (USEC_PER_SEC / HZ));
+ tv->tv_nsec -= 1000 * do_gettimeoffset();
while (tv->tv_nsec < 0) {
tv->tv_nsec += NSEC_PER_SEC;
tv->tv_sec--;
diff --git a/arch/sparc/kernel/time.c b/arch/sparc/kernel/time.c
index 6f84fa1b58e5..e10dc831944d 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/kernel/time.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/kernel/time.c
@@ -43,8 +43,6 @@
#include <asm/pcic.h>
#include <asm/of_device.h>
-extern unsigned long wall_jiffies;
-
DEFINE_SPINLOCK(rtc_lock);
enum sparc_clock_type sp_clock_typ;
DEFINE_SPINLOCK(mostek_lock);
@@ -449,7 +447,7 @@ unsigned long long sched_clock(void)
/* Ok, my cute asm atomicity trick doesn't work anymore.
* There are just too many variables that need to be protected
- * now (both members of xtime, wall_jiffies, et al.)
+ * now (both members of xtime, et al.)
*/
void do_gettimeofday(struct timeval *tv)
{
@@ -459,26 +457,17 @@ void do_gettimeofday(struct timeval *tv)
unsigned long max_ntp_tick = tick_usec - tickadj;
do {
- unsigned long lost;
-
seq = read_seqbegin_irqsave(&xtime_lock, flags);
usec = do_gettimeoffset();
- lost = jiffies - wall_jiffies;
/*
* If time_adjust is negative then NTP is slowing the clock
* so make sure not to go into next possible interval.
* Better to lose some accuracy than have time go backwards..
*/
- if (unlikely(time_adjust < 0)) {
+ if (unlikely(time_adjust < 0))
usec = min(usec, max_ntp_tick);
- if (lost)
- usec += lost * max_ntp_tick;
- }
- else if (unlikely(lost))
- usec += lost * tick_usec;
-
sec = xtime.tv_sec;
usec += (xtime.tv_nsec / 1000);
} while (read_seqretry_irqrestore(&xtime_lock, seq, flags));
@@ -521,8 +510,7 @@ static int sbus_do_settimeofday(struct timespec *tv)
* wall time. Discover what correction gettimeofday() would have
* made, and then undo it!
*/
- nsec -= 1000 * (do_gettimeoffset() +
- (jiffies - wall_jiffies) * (USEC_PER_SEC / HZ));
+ nsec -= 1000 * do_gettimeoffset();
wtm_sec = wall_to_monotonic.tv_sec + (xtime.tv_sec - sec);
wtm_nsec = wall_to_monotonic.tv_nsec + (xtime.tv_nsec - nsec);